Volleyball Nations League Men's World Championship Women's World Championship World Cup Men's Club World Championship Women's Club World Championship Women's Grand Champions Cup Men's Grand Champions Cup Men's U23 World Championship Women's U23 World Championship Men's U21 World Championship Women's U20 World Championship Boys' U19 World Championship Girls' U18 World Championship Olympic Qualification Tournaments Archives
Men Women Women's World Olympic Qualification Tournament (Japan) Men's World Olympic Qualification Tournament (Japan) Women's World Olympic Qualification Tournament (Puerto Rico) Men's World Olympic Qualfication Tournament (Mexico)
Senior - Men Senior - Women U23 - Men U23 - Women U21 - Men U20 - Women U19 - Boys U18 - Girls
Volleyball HistoryFIVB official Rules of the GameBasic Volleyball RulesPicture of the Game reportGlossary
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Cedrus Hidalgo sweeps titles in Mexican League

The inaugural Mexican Volleyball League concluded in Mexico City with the awards ceremony at Juan de la Barrera Gymnasium
Mexico City, Mexico, March 15, 2014 - IMSS Cedrus of Hidalgo captured the title in both genders at the inaugural Mexican Volleyball League.

The Final Four event took place at Juan de la Barrera Olympic Gymnasium in Mexico City in front of thousands spectators.

In the men’s division gold medal match, Cedrus edged Nuevo Leon University 3-2 (25-21, 21-25, 20-25, 25-22, 15-10) and claimed a 3-0 (25-18, 25-11, 25-13) victory over Chihuahua in the women’s final match.

Mexico City Hawks prevailed in a tough five-set battle (25-23, 21-25, 25-20, 24-26, 15-6) with Colima to take the men’s bronze medal. The women’s third place went to Colima with a straight-set (25-19, 31-29, 25-21) victory over Nuevo Leon.

Jesus Valdes Loredo of Nuevo Leon and Seomara Sainz of Colima won the Most Valuable Player honors. 

The awards were presented by Jesus Perales, President of the Mexican Volleyball Federation, during a colorful closing ceremony.

Men’s Individual Awards

Best Setter: Oscar Aguirre
Best Middle Blocker: David Alva
Best Opposite: Nestor Orellana
Best Receiver: Jair Morales
Best Libero: Jesus Rangel
MVP: Jesus Valdes

Women’s individual awards

Best Setter: Rosa Vallejo
Best Middle Blocker: Carolina Carranza
Best Opposite: Andrea Rangel
Best Receiver: Alejandra Isiordia
Best Libero: Kaomi Solis
MVP: Seomara Sainz

Download highresolution

| More


Other FIVB news