Volleyball Nations League Men's World Championship Women's World Championship World Cup Men's Club World Championship Women's Club World Championship Women's Grand Champions Cup Men's Grand Champions Cup Men's U23 World Championship Women's U23 World Championship Men's U21 World Championship Women's U20 World Championship Boys' U19 World Championship Girls' U18 World Championship Olympic Qualification Tournaments
Men Women Women's World Olympic Qualification Tournament (Japan) Men's World Olympic Qualification Tournament (Japan) Women's World Olympic Qualification Tournament (Puerto Rico) Men's World Olympic Qualfication Tournament (Mexico)
Senior - Men Senior - Women U23 - Men U23 - Women U21 - Men U20 - Women U19 - Boys U18 - Girls
Volleyball HistoryFIVB official Rules of the GameBasic Volleyball RulesPicture of the Game reportGlossary
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Drawing of Lots for men’s and women’s AVC Cup completed in Beijing

Thailand took the title in the 2012 edition of the AVC Cup for women, ending China’s reign in two consecutive editions
Beijing, China, February 23, 2014 – The Drawing of Lots for the men’s and women’s competition of the AVC Cup took place during the Confederation’s Sports Event Council meeting held over the weekend in Beijing. This will be fourth edition of tournament, which was last held in 2012.

The tournament brings together the top eight Asian Senior Volleyball Championship teams for the highest level of competition in the sport of volleyball on the continent. 

The fourth AVC Cup for men, which also acts as the qualification tournament for the 2015 World League, is set to be held in Almaty, Kazakhstan from August 18 to 24. Defending champion China will meet strong challenge from two-time champion Iran in the pool competition.

China and Iran are old foes in the Cup event. Although China lost to Iran in the 2010 finals they pulled off a dramatic 3-1 victory over the defending two-time champion Iran to reign supreme at the third AVC Cup for men in 2012. In this year’s competition, the two teams are drawn into Pool B, which also includes Australia and Thailand, in the preliminary round.

Host Kazakhstan was drawn into Pool A – arguably the tougher of the two groups – and will play against Japan, India and Korea who finished third, fourth and fifth respectively in 2012.

The fourth AVC Cup for Women will be held in Nanchang, China from September 6 to 12, which is also a qualification tournament for the 2015 World Grand Prix.

The eight teams are grouped into two pools with host China playing against Vietnam, Korea and Iran in Pool A. Pool B includes Thailand, Kazakhstan, Japan and Chinese Taipei.

China, champion in the first two editions, failed to defend their title in the third edition held in Kazakhstan in 2012. Thailand was able to avenge its second edition loss to China with a 3-1 win in the final showdown two years ago, brining China’s reign to an end. The host team will certainly use their home ground advantage this year to try and regain their domination in the tournament.

Defending champion Thailand (also a gold medalist in last year’s Asian Senior Championship when they beat Japan and China) will meet Kazakhstan, Japan and Chinese Taipei in Pool B.


Pool A – Kazakhstan, Japan, Korea, India
Pool B – China, Iran, Australia, Thailand


Pool A – China, Vietnam, Korea, Iran
Pool B – Thailand, Kazakhstan, Japan, Chinese Taipei

Download highresolution

| More


Other FIVB news