Volleyball Nations League Men's World Championship Women's World Championship World Cup Men's Club World Championship Women's Club World Championship Women's Grand Champions Cup Men's Grand Champions Cup Men's U23 World Championship Women's U23 World Championship Men's U21 World Championship Women's U20 World Championship Boys' U19 World Championship Girls' U18 World Championship Olympic Qualification Tournaments Archives
Men Women Women's World Olympic Qualification Tournament (Japan) Men's World Olympic Qualification Tournament (Japan) Women's World Olympic Qualification Tournament (Puerto Rico) Men's World Olympic Qualfication Tournament (Mexico)
Senior - Men Senior - Women U23 - Men U23 - Women U21 - Men U20 - Women U19 - Boys U18 - Girls
Volleyball HistoryFIVB official Rules of the GameBasic Volleyball RulesPicture of the Game reportGlossary
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Iran qualifies for FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Championships 2014

Iran clinched a spot at the FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Championships 2014

Lausanne, Switzerland, September 15, 2013 – Iran clinched a spot at the FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Championships 2014 after sweeping Bahrain in three sets at the Asian Men’s Qualification Tournament Final pool B on Friday.

Julio Velasco’s team beat Bahrain in 3-0 (25–16, 25–17, 25–14) in Tehran’s Azadi Hall. 

Iran also defeated Pakistan and Indonesia in the pool. 

“We want to be the top team and achieve the ticket of world championship,” Mehdi Mahdavi, Iran’s captain said prior to the match.

The 2014 FIVB Men's Volleyball World Championship will be held in Poland from September 3 to 21. Finals host Poland, three-time defending champion Brazil, Argentina, Australia and Korea are already confirmed for the 2014 FIVB Men’s World Championships, thus far. 

The first World Championships were organised in 1949 for Men and 1952 for Women. Both gender events have remained the biggest events in volleyball, along with the Olympic Games since 1964. In the event's long history, the former USSR and Czechoslovakia have seen the most success, although recent years have been dominated by Brazil - champions three times running in 2002, 2006, and the last Men’s World Championship in Italy in 2010.

Download highresolution

| More


Other FIVB news