Volleyball Nations League Men's World Championship Women's World Championship World Cup Men's Club World Championship Women's Club World Championship Women's Grand Champions Cup Men's Grand Champions Cup Men's U23 World Championship Women's U23 World Championship Men's U21 World Championship Women's U20 World Championship Boys' U19 World Championship Girls' U18 World Championship Olympic Qualification Tournaments Archives
Men Women Women's World Olympic Qualification Tournament (Japan) Men's World Olympic Qualification Tournament (Japan) Women's World Olympic Qualification Tournament (Puerto Rico) Men's World Olympic Qualfication Tournament (Mexico)
Senior - Men Senior - Women U23 - Men U23 - Women U21 - Men U20 - Women U19 - Boys U18 - Girls
Volleyball HistoryFIVB official Rules of the GameBasic Volleyball RulesPicture of the Game reportGlossary
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Poland get set to defend Hubert Jerzy Wagner title

Poland, who were unable to defend their 2012 World League title this year, now have their sights set on winning the European Championship for which the Hubert Jerzy Wagner Memorial tournament is a warm up event.
Plock, Poland, September 5, 2013 – The 11th Hubert Jerzy Wagner Memorial tournament is scheduled to take place at the Orlen Arena in Plock in central Poland from September 6 to 8. This is the first time the tournament will be held in Plock and will include the participation of hosts Poland as well as Russia, the Netherlands and Germany.

The hosts will be aiming to repeat their success from 2012 when they defeated Germany, Argentina and Iran in the round-robin competition in the city of Zielona Gora. This is the first time that the tournament will include current Olympic champions, Russia.

The tournament, held under the patronage of the President of the Republic of Poland, has been previously hosted by the cities of Olsztyn, Lodz, Bydgoszcz, Katowice, Zielona Gora, Ilawie, Osterode, Elblag.

The matches will serve as preparation for the 2013 CEV VELUX EURO Volley Championship that will be organised by Poland and Denmark from September 20 to 29. Each country will host two preliminary pools with four nations in each, while the semi-finals and the final will be played in Denmark. It is the first time that both nations host a European Championship.

Along with the hosts, the other countries participating in the 2013 CEV VELUX EURO Volley Championship are defending European Champions Serbia as well as Russia, Italy, Slovakia, Bulgaria, Belarus, Netherlands, Finland, Germany, France, Czech Republic, Slovenia, Belgium and Turkey.

11th Hubert Jerzy Wagner Memorial tournament schedule (*)

Friday, September 6

17:00 Poland - Netherlands
20:00 Germany - Russia

Saturday, September 7
14:30 Russia - Netherlands
17:00 Poland - Germany

Sunday, September 8
12:00 Netherlands - Germany
14:30 Poland - Russia

* Match start times are subject to change .

Download highresolution

| More


Other FIVB news