Volleyball Nations League Men's World Championship Women's World Championship World Cup Men's Club World Championship Women's Club World Championship Women's Grand Champions Cup Men's Grand Champions Cup Men's U23 World Championship Women's U23 World Championship Men's U21 World Championship Women's U20 World Championship Boys' U19 World Championship Girls' U18 World Championship Olympic Qualification Tournaments
Men Women Women's World Olympic Qualification Tournament (Japan) Men's World Olympic Qualification Tournament (Japan) Women's World Olympic Qualification Tournament (Puerto Rico) Men's World Olympic Qualfication Tournament (Mexico)
Senior - Men Senior - Women U23 - Men U23 - Women U21 - Men U20 - Women U19 - Boys U18 - Girls
Volleyball HistoryFIVB official Rules of the GameBasic Volleyball RulesPicture of the Game reportGlossary
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Countdown to the 2014 Men's World Championship begins


Lausanne, Switzerland, September 3, 2013 – The final countdown to the 2014 Men’s Volleyball World Championship has begun and in just one year’s time, all attention will be on Poland as it hosts the tournament for the first time in its history.

Poland is no stranger to hosting high level volleyball events, having staged the FIVB World League Finals in 2010, 2007 and 2001 in addition to age-group World Championships and the inaugural edition of the World Cup. Despite the Polish men’s team having won the World Championship title in 1974 and finishing second in 2006, at no stage have they hosted the key event.

The championship will feature 24 teams of which only the hosts are automatically qualified. The volleyball matches of are scheduled to take place in the arenas of the following six cities:

- Hala Luczniczka (Bydgoszcz)
- Ergo Arena (Sopot/Gdansk)
- Spodek (Katowice)
- Atlas Arena (Lodz)
- Hala Czyzyny (Krakow)
- Hala Stulecia (Wroclaw)

Argentina and Brazil were the first to qualify for the 2014 Men’s World Championship and other Confederations have already begun their qualifying process.

Volleyball in Poland has enjoyed a huge surge in popularity over the last few years. Gdansk hosted the spectacular 2011 World League Finals where the Polish men’s team finished third and a year later Katowice hosted one of the best-ever FIVB World League preliminary round weekends. Poland also hosted the FIVB Beach Volleyball World Championships 2013.

The FIVB Men’s Volleyball World Championship takes place every four years and the 2010 edition was hosted by Italy where Brazil secured their third straight title. In fact the Brazilian men’s team and the Russian women’s team have claimed the gold medals at the last two editions (2010 and 2006) of the FIVB World Championships. The FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Championship will take place next year in Italy and will start on September 23, 2014.

The winner of next year’s Men’s World Championship will qualify for the FIVB Volleyball World Cup in 2015, which is the first Olympic qualification event for the Rio 2016 Olympic Games.

Download highresolution

| More


Other FIVB news