Volleyball Nations League Men's World Championship Women's World Championship World Cup Men's Club World Championship Women's Club World Championship Women's Grand Champions Cup Men's Grand Champions Cup Men's U23 World Championship Women's U23 World Championship Men's U21 World Championship Women's U20 World Championship Boys' U19 World Championship Girls' U18 World Championship Olympic Qualification Tournaments Archives
Men Women Women's World Olympic Qualification Tournament (Japan) Men's World Olympic Qualification Tournament (Japan) Women's World Olympic Qualification Tournament (Puerto Rico) Men's World Olympic Qualfication Tournament (Mexico)
Senior - Men Senior - Women U23 - Men U23 - Women U21 - Men U20 - Women U19 - Boys U18 - Girls
Volleyball HistoryFIVB official Rules of the GameBasic Volleyball RulesPicture of the Game reportGlossary
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Turkey ready for Volleyball U21 World Championship action

Defending champions Russia will face a greater challenge this year following the expansion of the format for this year's Championship

Izmir, Turkey, August 20, 2013 – Volleyball fever has taken over Turkey as the country prepares to host the FIVB Men's U21 World Championship that will take place in the cities of Ankara and Izmir from Thursday, August 22 until September 1.

The Baskent Hall in Ankara will host Pool A and B matches, while the Pool C and D matches of the tournament will take place at the Ataturk Volleyball Hall in Izmir.

The tournament, which takes place every two years, provides a platform for the next generation of stars to showcase their skills on the international stage and potentially take the big step into the senior ranks. While it is the first time that Turkey will host the 10-day Men's Under 21 World Championship, the country has hosted the Women's U20 World Championship in 2005 and the Girls' U18 World Championship in 2011.

The competition features a revised format having been expanded from 16 to 20 teams, made up of the hosts and 19 qualifiers and will run over 10 days with two rest days.

The 20 teams will be divided into four pools of five teams each and will play a round-robin tournament. The bottom-ranked team of each pool will play classification matches for 17th-20th place in a round-robin system.

The other 16 teams progress to the Eight Finals, which consists of a playoff (1st of Pool A against 4th of Pool B etc). The winners of the playoff matches will advance to the quarterfinals, semifinals and finals to be classified from 1st to 8th while the losers of the playoff match will play classification matches, with a similar quarterfinals, semifinals and finals system, to be classified from 9th to 16th.

Russia are the defending champions after their success in Brazil in 2011, their eighth in 11 appearances in the competition. They will face a double South American threat – from Argentina and Brazil – as well as from fellow Europeans Serbia, Poland and Italy.

Pool distribution

Pool A: Turkey- China- Egypt- India- Morocco

Pool B: Argentina- Iran- Japan- Mexico- Estonia

Pool C: Serbia- USA- Tunisia- Canada- Rwanda

Pool D: Russia- Brazil- France- Venezuela- Italy

2013 Men’s U21 World Championship page 
2013 Men’s U21 World Championship Live Scorebox 
2013 Men’s U21 World Championship Schedule 
FIVB World Rankings 

Twitter - @FIVB Volleyball@FIVBMensU21 
Facebook: FIVB - International Volleyball Federation 
YouTube: FIVB Video

Download highresolution

| More


Other FIVB news