Volleyball Nations League Men's World Championship Women's World Championship World Cup Men's Club World Championship Women's Club World Championship Women's Grand Champions Cup Men's Grand Champions Cup Men's U23 World Championship Women's U23 World Championship Men's U21 World Championship Women's U20 World Championship Boys' U19 World Championship Girls' U18 World Championship Olympic Qualification Tournaments Archives
Men Women Women's World Olympic Qualification Tournament (Japan) Men's World Olympic Qualification Tournament (Japan) Women's World Olympic Qualification Tournament (Puerto Rico) Men's World Olympic Qualfication Tournament (Mexico)
Senior - Men Senior - Women U23 - Men U23 - Women U21 - Men U20 - Women U19 - Boys U18 - Girls
Volleyball HistoryFIVB official Rules of the GameBasic Volleyball RulesPicture of the Game reportGlossary
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

India, Pakistan enter final round of Asian Men’s Qualification Tournament for 2014 World Championship

India and Pakistan book tickets to final round of Asian Qualification Tournament

Colombo, Sri Lanka, July 6, 2013 - India pulled off an exceptional straight-sets victory over hosts Sri Lanka to underline their supremacy at the AVC Central Zone Pool 2 Men’s Qualification Tournament at the Sugathadasa Indoor Stadium on Friday and booked their ticket to the final round with a perfect record.

Meanwhile, Pakistan, who lost their first game to India and beat Sri Lanka in five sets on the following day, stormed past the Maldives in straight sets for their second victory, which helped them to collect five points and finished second of the tournament, thus ensuring their berth in the final round.

India beat Sri Lanka 3-0 (25-20, 28-26, 25-19) and Pakistan defeated Maldives 3-0 (25-13, 25-18, 25-20). After three days, India bagged nine points from three wins and Pakistan collected five points, while Sri Lanka earned four points and Maldives remained empty-handed.

The top two from this meet will make the cut for the continent’s 16-team final round in September. Australia, Iran, China and Japan will jointly host the final round to form Pool A, B, C and D respectively, with three qualified teams joining each pool. Only the eventual winners from each pool, totaling four from Asia, will then be eligible for the next year’s 24-team FIVB World Championship in Poland.

So far, 12 teams have already qualified for Asia’s final round. They comprise Australia, Iran, China, Japan, South Korea, all of them automatically qualified as the Asia’s top five in the FIVB world ranking. Also advancing to the final round are Kazakhstan, Chinese Taipei, Thailand, Indonesia, India, Pakistan, and New Zealand. The last four tickets will be decided in the Asian Western Zonal Qualification Tournaments


Wednesday’s results

Sri Lanka vs Maldives 

3-0 (25-20, 25-12, 25-23)

India vs Pakistan 

3-0 (25-21, 25-20, 25-21)

Thursday’s results


Pakistan vs. Sri Lanka

3-2 (25-21, 22-25, 17-25, 25-17, 15-12)

India vs. Maldives 

3-0 (25-17, 25-14, 25-12)

Friday’s results


Pakistan vs. Maldives

3-0 (25-13, 25-18, 25-20)

Sri Lanka vs. India

0-3 (20-25, 26-28, 19-25)


Final Standings:

1.       India,

2.       Pakistan

3.       Sri Lanka

4.       Maldives

Download highresolution

| More


Other FIVB news