Volleyball Nations League Men's World Championship Women's World Championship World Cup Volleyball Challenger Cup Men's Club World Championship Women's Club World Championship Women's Grand Champions Cup Men's Grand Champions Cup Men's U23 World Championship Women's U23 World Championship Men's U21 World Championship Women's U20 World Championship Boys' U19 World Championship Girls' U18 World Championship Archives
2020 Olympic Qualification System 2020 Qualification Tables
Senior - Men Senior - Women U23 - Men U23 - Women U21 - Men U20 - Women U19 - Boys U18 - Girls
Volleyball HistoryFIVB official Rules of the GameBasic Volleyball RulesPicture of the Game reportGlossary
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

FIVB World League expands to 18 teams for 2013

FIVB President Dr. Ary S. Graça F° addresses the World League Council, which was chaired by executive vice-president in charge of volleyball events Aleksandar Boricic

Lausanne, Switzerland, December 1, 2012 – The International Volleyball Federation (FIVB) World League Council confirmed the structure of the 2013 edition of the FIVB’s premier annual men’s event at its meeting at the FIVB head office in Lausanne on Saturday with the competition increasing from 16 to 18 teams split into three pools of six.

Pools A and B are determined using the serpentine system based on the world rankings as of August 13, 2012. Pool C will feature teams ranked as the next best four in the world rankings after the 12 teams in Pool A and B plus two additional teams, which will be confirmed by the FIVB Executive Committee during its end of year meeting on December 15.

Last year’s winners Poland, will play Olympic silver medallists and nine-time World League champions Brazil, 2012 World League runners up USA and 2012 World League and Olympic Games fourth placed team Bulgaria along with Argentina and France.

The second pool features Olympic champions Russia, eight-time World League winners Italy, last year’s World League bronze medallists Cuba, Serbia, Germany and World League debutants Iran.

2013 World League pools:
Pool A: Brazil (WR1), Poland (WR4), USA (WR5), Bulgaria (WR8), Argentina (WR9) and France (WR16)
Pool B: Russia (WR2), Italy (WR3), Cuba (WR6), Serbia (WR7), Germany (WR10), Iran (WR14)
Pool C: Canada (WR18), Korea (WR22), Finland (WR31), the Netherlands (WR41), vacancy 1*, vacancy 2*.

It is the first time the World League will feature 18 teams, having had 16 teams from 2001-2003 and 2006-2012. The World League featured eight teams in its inaugural year in 1990, 10 in 1991 and then 12 from 1992-2000 and 2004-05.

The top three world ranked teams in each pool will play three matches at home and two away with the bottom three world ranked teams playing twice at home and three times away.

The Intercontinental Round is expected to start on May 31 with each pool playing over five weekends before the Finals take place from July 16-21. The precise calendar will be confirmed at a later date. Eight teams will qualify for the World League Finals featuring the top three teams from Pools A and B, plus the winner of Pool C and the host country. The confirmation of the host country of the World League Finals is expected by the end of January.

* To be confirmed by the FIVB Executive Committee during its end of year meeting on December 15.

For further information visit www.fivb.org
Press contact - FIVB Press Director Richard Baker
Email: press@fivb.org    

Download highresolution

| More


Other FIVB news