World Championships World Tour U23 World Championships U21 World Championships U19 World Championships U17 World Championships Youth Olympic Games Continental Cup Tokyo 2020 Beach Volleyball Qualification Tournament Challengers and Satellites Exhibitions/Country v. Country Archives
Global World Championship World Tour Finals World Tour 5-Star events World Tour 4-Star events World Tour 3-Star events World Tour 2-Star events World Tour 1-Star events Continental Tours National Tours
FIVB World Ranking    - Men    - Women Entry Rankings    Teams - Men    Teams - Women    Players - Men    Players - Women Provisional Olympic Ranking    - Men    - Women
Beach Volleyball historyFIVB official Rules of the GamePicture of the Game reportGlossary
BVB InfoPersonal Plus - DancersBeach Volleyball Training Centres
 Sports Regulations Sport Regulations Changes Handbook Handbook 2019 2018 FIVB Challenge System Regulations Handbook 2019 (Age Group WCHS) Media Guide 2017 E-Book How to promote a beach volleyball event - Guidelines FIVB Beach Volleyball U21 World Championships 2019
2020 Olympic Qualification System
2020 Olympic Qualification System 2020 Qualification Tables
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Six countries net Langkawi main draw berths

Canadian Liam Kopp team with Alexander Russell to eliminate the top-seeded team Thailand in Thursday Langkawi men's qualifier
Langkawi, Malaysia, March 12, 2020 - Led by Finland and Japan, six countries posted perfect qualifying records here Thursday to advance to the men's and women's main draw at this fourth annual FIVB Beach Volleyball World Tour event.
Posting women's qualifying wins Thursday were third-seeded Anna Rantala/Ida Sinisalo and fourth-seeded Katja Metsakoivu/Tuuli Metsakoivu of Finland and the Japanese pairs of top-seeded Reika Murakami/Kaho Sakaguchi and Minori Kumada/Yukako Suzuki

While the women's prevailed as expected in the Langkawi qualifier, only fourth-seeded Alexander Annerstedt/Martin Johansson of Sweden advanced as expected to Friday's pool play schedule.

Posting seed-break-through wins to advance to the men's main draw were sixth-seeded Artur Hajos/Bence Streli of Hungary, seventh-seeded Anton Ermishenkov/Alexey Gusev of Russia and eighth-seeded Liam Kopp/Alexander Russell of Canada.

Following Friday's group action for both men and women where 16 teams will compete in each draw, two rounds of eliminations for both genders will be staged Saturday to set the field for Sunday's medal matches where the winning teams will share the US$1,000 first-place prizes.

Download highresolution

| More


Other FIVB news