World Championships World Tour U23 World Championships U21 World Championships U19 World Championships U17 World Championships Continental Cup World Continental Cup Olympic Qualification 2016 Challengers and Satellites Exhibitions/Country v. Country Archives
Global World Championship World Tour 5-Star events World Tour 4-Star events World Tour 3-Star events World Tour 2-Star events World Tour 1-Star events Continental Tours National Tours
FIVB World Ranking    - Men    - Women Entry Rankings    Teams - Men    Teams - Women    Players - Men    Players - Women
Beach Volleyball historyFIVB official Rules of the GamePicture of the Game reportGlossary
BVB InfoPersonal Plus - DancersBeach Volleyball Training Centres
Sports Regulations 2018 Handbook 2018 2018 FIVB Challenge System Regulations Handbook 2018 (Age Group WCHS) Media Guide 2017 E-Book How to promote a beach volleyball event - Guidelines FIVB Beach Volleyball U19 World Championships 2018
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

High hopes for the Grimalt cousins at the Chilean stop of the South American tour

Marco and Esteban Grimalt won the first stop of the circuit that was held in Sante Fe, Argentina in November 2012
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, February 6, 2013 – The Grimalt cousins Marco and Esteban are the favourites to with the next stop on the South American beach volleyball tour that will be held in Viña del Mar, Chile from February 8 to 10.  The tournament will feature 24 foreign teams representing Argentina, Brazil, Bolivia, Colombia, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, Venezuela and 6 pairs representing the host country.
Jose Beltran (president of the Chilean Volleyball Federation), Jose Zapata, on behalf of the Mayor Virginia Reginato, and the local players Marco and Esteban Grimalt, Francisca Rivas and Natalia Depassier were present at the official launch of this beach volleyball stop.

Jose Beltran also announced that Chile will organise another South American Tour stop saying,  “The South American Confederation is very satisfied with our work and organisation and how we boost the development of beach volleyball. That gives us the chance to organise another South American stop and we will do it at the city of Linares.”

The cousins Marco and Esteban Grimalt look forward to retaining their title obtained at the first stop at the Santa Fe venue in Argentina. “We want to win at home, with our audience and also keep on top of the South American ranking.  That is one of our goals to keep preparing ourselves for the World Circuit and the 2014 South American Games,” said Esteban Grimalt.

Chileans Francisca Rivas and Camila Pazdirek found themselves on the podium at the Santa Fe stop – the first time Chile has medalled in 24 years.   “We are working in improving our volleyball. We keep improving and hope to be on the Podium once more,” said Rivas.
Participating teams:

ARGENTINA 1 - Ian Mehamed/ Julian Azaad
ARGENTINA 2 - Santiago Etchegaray/ Pablo Bianchi
BOLIVIA 1 -  Alanl Martinez Velasquez/ Kevin Canedo
BRAZIL 1 - Evandro Gonçalves/ Vitor Filipe
BRAZIL 2 - Álvaro Magliano/ Thiago Santos
CHILE 1 -  Esteban Grimalt/ Marco Grimalt
CHILE 2 -  Cristobal Martinez/ Rodrigo Salinas
CHILE 3 -  Roberto Ordenes/ Nicolas Meza
COLOMBIA 1 - Carlos Vasquez/ Miguel Montoya
PARAGUAY  1 -  Mauricio Brizuela/ Luis Riveros
PARAGUAY  2 -  Jorge Gaona/ Jose Ortiz
PERU 1 - Williams Maldonado/ Roger Rengifo  
URUGUAY 1 -  Renzo Cairús/ Maximiliano Santiago
VENEZUELA 1 - Jesus Villafañe/ Jackson Henriquez
VENEZUELA 2 - Farid Mussa/ Fernando Ramos
ARGENTINA 1 - Virginia Zonta/ Ana Gallay
ARGENTINA 2 - Georgina Klug/ Natali Flaviani
BOLIVIA 1 -  Franschesca Canedo/ María Luisa Ortiz  
BRAZIL 1 -    Ângela Vieira / Maria Clara Salgado
BRAZIL 2 - Elize Maia / Fernanda Berti
CHILE 1 -  Camila Pazdirek / Francisca Rivas
CHILE 2 -  Natalia Depassier/ María del Pilar Mardones
CHILE 3 -  Chris Vorpalh / Carolina Piña
COLOMBIA 1 – Andrea Galindo/Claudia Galindo
COLOMBIA 2 -  Margarita Guzman/ Ingrid Lopez
PARAGUAY  1 -  Patricia Caballero / Ghirda Sanabria
PARAGUAY  2 -  Adriana Marti / Katrin Thiede
URUGUAY 1 -  Karina Cardozo/ Mariana Guerrero
VENEZUELA 1 - Orquidea Vera / Frankelina Cardoso
VENEZUELA 2 - Karelys Mosquera / Milagros Hernandez

Download highresolution

| More


Other FIVB news