World Championships World Tour U23 World Championships U21 World Championships U19 World Championships U17 World Championships Continental Cup World Continental Cup Olympic Qualification 2016 Challengers and Satellites Exhibitions/Country v. Country Archives
Global World Championship World Tour 5-Star events World Tour 4-Star events World Tour 3-Star events World Tour 2-Star events World Tour 1-Star events Continental Tours National Tours
FIVB World Ranking    - Men    - Women Entry Rankings    Teams - Men    Teams - Women    Players - Men    Players - Women
Beach Volleyball historyFIVB official Rules of the GamePicture of the Game reportGlossary
BVB InfoPersonal Plus - DancersBeach Volleyball Training Centres
Sports Regulations 2018 Handbook 2018 2018 FIVB Challenge System Regulations Handbook 2018 (Age Group WCHS) Media Guide 2017 E-Book How to promote a beach volleyball event - Guidelines FIVB Beach Volleyball U19 World Championships 2018
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Australia and Vanuatu take home gold at the Oceania Beach Volleyball Championships

Sam Boehm and Russel Moore from Australia (left) beat New Zealand’s pairing of Darryl Lewis and James Gilling in the finals of the 2012 Oceania Beach Volleyball Championships in Tahiti
Papeete, Tahiti, December 5, 2012 - Sam Boehm and Russel Moore from Australia beat New Zealand’s Darryl Lewis and James Gilling to grab the men’s gold medal at the 2012 Oceania Beach Volleyball Championships in Papeete, Tahiti. Vanuatu’s Henriette Iatika and Joyce Joshua clinched the title at the women’s tournament beating their rivals from Australia in straight sets.

Australia’s Sam Boehm and Russel Moore were undefeated in the tournament, making them the strongest contenders for the title. Although New Zealand’s Darryl Lewis and James Gilling played their hearts out, they lost the finals against the Australians in straight sets. Nevertheless, they have sent out a clear message that they are the team to watch out for in the next Oceania Beach tournament in Papua New Guinea in 2014.

The women’s finals kicked off with two very determined teams vying for the top spot. After 45 minutes, Vanuatu got what they came to the tournament to achieve by winning the grand final 2-0 (21-19, 21-12).

Vanuatu rallied from the first set down against Team One from Tahiti to edge their rival and enter the finals, while the Australian duo beat Tahiti's Team Three in straight sets to clinch the final berth.


1st place:   Australia vs. NZ 2  -  2-0 (21-18, 22-20)
3rd place:  Tahiti 1 vs. NZ 1    -  1-2 (21-18, 13-21, 13-15)

Semi Finals
NZ 1 vs. NZ 2:            1-2 (21-10, 16-21, 14-16)
Australia vs. Tahiti 1:  2-0 (26-24, 21-18)


1st place:   Vanuatu vs. Australia -  2-0 (21-19, 21-12)
3rd place:   Tahiti 1 vs. Tahiti 3   -  2-0 (21-14, 21-18)

Semi Finals
Australia vs. Tahiti 3:   2-0 (21-13, 21-11)
Tahiti 1 vs. Vanuatu:   1-2 (21-12, 8-21, 9-15)

Download highresolution

| More


Other FIVB news