World Championships World Tour U23 World Championships U21 World Championships U19 World Championships U17 World Championships Continental Cup World Continental Cup Olympic Qualification 2016 Challengers and Satellites Exhibitions/Country v. Country Archives
Global World Championship World Tour 5-Star events World Tour 4-Star events World Tour 3-Star events World Tour 2-Star events World Tour 1-Star events Continental Tours National Tours
FIVB World Ranking    - Men    - Women Entry Rankings    Teams - Men    Teams - Women    Players - Men    Players - Women
Beach Volleyball historyFIVB official Rules of the GamePicture of the Game reportGlossary
BVB InfoPersonal Plus - DancersBeach Volleyball Training Centres
Sports Regulations 2018 Handbook 2018 2018 FIVB Challenge System Regulations Handbook 2018 (Age Group WCHS) Media Guide 2017 E-Book How to promote a beach volleyball event - Guidelines FIVB Beach Volleyball U19 World Championships 2018
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Splendid action on Day One at Druif Beach in Aruba

Fabien Whitfield of Trinidad & Tobago celebrates after winning a match against USA-B team of Matt Motter and Derek Olson on Friday
Oranjestad, Aruba, November 30, 2012 – The men’s duos of Trinidad & Tobago, Mexico and Dominican Republic and the women´s teams of Puerto Rico-A and Costa Rica-B won their two matches of day one at the Aruba Beach Volleyball Tournament, the eleventh stop of the 2012 NORCECA Circuit on Friday.

Playing in Pool C, Trinidadians Fabien Whitfield and Daneil Williams and Mexicans Juan Virgen and Lombardo Ontiveros both claimed victories over the teams of USA-B and Barbados.

Whitfield/Williams first beat Barbados’ Kyle Browne and Hugh Sealey 21-17, 21-12 and then overcame Matt Motter and Derek Olson of USA-B in three sets (14-21, 22-20, 15-8). Virgen/Ontiveros edged Motter/Olson 2-1 (21-17, 19-21, 15-12) before crushing Browne/Sealey 21-9, 21-6.

In Pool D, the Dominicans Luis Adames and German Recio notched a 21-18, 21-18 victory over Domingo Ávila and Otto Penso of Panama and the overwhelmed Curacao’s Holmi Cathalina and Algidio Juliana 21-10, 21-10.

In the women’s division, Puerto Ricans Yarleen Santiago and Yamileska Yantin and Costa Ricans Ingrid Morales and Natalia Alfaro won their two matches of Pool D and C respectively.

Santiago/Yantín first defeated the United States-B team of Stevi Robinson and Kirby Burnham by scores of 21-16, 21-11 and then beat compatriots Dariam Acevedo and Tatiana Encarnacion of Puerto Rico-B by 21-13, 21-18.

Morales/Alfaro won a three-setter (21-16, 15-21, 15-8) over Mexico’s Bibi Candelas and Martha Revuelta and followed with a 21-13, 21-13 night victory under the lights over Dominican Republic’s Diana Peguero and Nairobi Agramonte.

Men’s results of Friday

Pool A
: United States-A d Nicaragua 2-0 (21-13, 21-14); Nicaragua d Costa Rica 2-0 (23-21, 21-18)
Pool B: Guatemala d Cayman Islands 2-0 (21-14, 21-19); Aruba d Cayman Islands 2-0 (21-14, 21-10)
Pool C: Trinidad & Tobago d Barbados 2-0 (21-17, 21-12); Mexico d United States-B 2-1 (21-17, 19-21, 15-12); Trinidad & Tobago d United States-B 2-1 (14-21, 22-20, 15-8); Mexico d Barbados 2-0 (21-9, 21-6)
Pool D: St. Lucia d Curazao 2-0 (21-15, 21-16); Dominican Republic d Panama 2-0 (21-18, 21-18); Dominican Republic d Curazao 2-0 (21-10, 21-10); St. Lucia d Panama 2-0 (21-16, 21-12).

Women’s results of Friday

Pool A
: Nicaragua d Cayman Islands 2-0 (21-15, 21-18); Cayman Islands d Canada 2-0 (21-13, 21-12)
Pool B: St. Lucia d Trinidad & Tobago 2-0 (21-12, 21-14); United States-A d St. Lucia 2-0 (21-6, 21-3).
Pool C: Dominican Republic d St. Vincent 2-0 (21-9, 21-4); Costa Rica-B d Mexico 2-1 (21-16, 15-21, 15-8); Mexico d St. Vincent 2-0 (21-7, 21-12); Costa Rica d Dominican Republic 2-0 (21-13, 21-13).
Pool D: Puerto Rico-B d Costa Rica-A 2-0 (21-14, 21-14); Puerto Rico-A d United States-B 2-0 (21-16, 21-11); United States-B d Costa Rica-A 2-0 (21-14, 21-17); Puerto Rico-A d Puerto Rico-B 2-0 (21-13, 21-18).

Download highresolution

| More


Other FIVB news