World Championships World Tour U23 World Championships U21 World Championships U19 World Championships U17 World Championships Continental Cup World Continental Cup Olympic Qualification 2016 Challengers and Satellites Exhibitions/Country v. Country Archives
Global World Championship World Tour 5-Star events World Tour 4-Star events World Tour 3-Star events World Tour 2-Star events World Tour 1-Star events Continental Tours National Tours
FIVB World Ranking    - Men    - Women Entry Rankings    Teams - Men    Teams - Women    Players - Men    Players - Women
Beach Volleyball historyFIVB official Rules of the GamePicture of the Game reportGlossary
BVB InfoPersonal Plus - DancersBeach Volleyball Training Centres
Sports Regulations 2018 Handbook 2018 2018 FIVB Challenge System Regulations Handbook 2018 (Age Group WCHS) Media Guide 2017 E-Book How to promote a beach volleyball event - Guidelines FIVB Beach Volleyball U19 World Championships 2018
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Cape Verde and Senegal claim gold at African Zone 2 Beach Volleyball Championship

Mamadou Ndoye, the president of Zone 2, presented the women's gold medallists Aïta Gaye and Fatoumata Dacosta with their awards
Tarrafal, Cape Verde, November 30, 2012 – Cape Verde’s Pais Valter and Martins Davidson claimed the men’s gold, and Senegal’s Aïta Gaye and Fatoumata Dacosta were women’s champions in the Zone 2 Beach Volleyball Championship held at Tarrafal beach outside the capital Cape Verde on November 10 and 11.

The competition – a major Zone 2 event under the framework of CAVB’s Development Plan – drew participation from Gambia, Guinea Bissau, Senegal and Cape Verde, the host country. The men and women each played round-robin tournaments over two days, and were ranked on points.

Valter and Davidson dominated the men’s championship, winning all their matches, while Senegal’s Cheikh Sadibou Lö and Momar Gueye came second and Guinea Bissau’s Jean d. Cabral and Isnaba Correa were third. Cape Verde’s other entrants, Herman Pezeira and Steven Alves, came in last.

Gaye and Dacosta not only won all their matches, but didn’t drop a set in their three matches. Cape Verde’s Eveline Monteiro and Jandra da Pina Barboza came second, Marie Wadda and Saffie Savaneh of Gambia were third, and Carina Silva and Bruno Prio, also Cape Verdeans, finished fourth.

Upon arrival the teams were received by Cap Verde Volleyball Federation president Antonio Carlos Rodriguès, the president of the Praia Volleyball League and the mayor of the town of Tarrafal, who attended the whole competition.

Broadcast media and written press covered the event live at the marvellous beaches. All of the players and organisers were interviewed by Cape Verde TV.

Download highresolution

| More


Other FIVB news