World Championships World Tour U23 World Championships U21 World Championships U19 World Championships U17 World Championships Continental Cup World Continental Cup Olympic Qualification 2016 Challengers and Satellites Exhibitions/Country v. Country Archives
Global World Championship World Tour 5-Star events World Tour 4-Star events World Tour 3-Star events World Tour 2-Star events World Tour 1-Star events Continental Tours National Tours
FIVB World Ranking    - Men    - Women Entry Rankings    Teams - Men    Teams - Women    Players - Men    Players - Women
Beach Volleyball historyFIVB official Rules of the GamePicture of the Game reportGlossary
BVB InfoPersonal Plus - DancersBeach Volleyball Training Centres
Sports Regulations 2018 Handbook 2018 2018 FIVB Challenge System Regulations Handbook 2018 (Age Group WCHS) Media Guide 2017 E-Book How to promote a beach volleyball event - Guidelines FIVB Beach Volleyball U19 World Championships 2018
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Montgomery going for a “hat-trick” in Aruba

USA Will Montgomery won the last two beach volleyball events in NORCECA playing with different partners

Oranjestad, Aruba, November 27, 2012 – American Will Montgomery will march after a third consecutive men’s gold medal in the NORCECA Beach Volleyball Circuit when the action begins at the eleventh and final stage of the year in Aruba from November 30 to December 2.

Montgomery, winner of the last two stops in Santa Lucia and Trinidad & Tobago with Johan Mesko and Antonio Ciarelli respectively, will be paired this time with James Avery Drost.

The California native attempts to match the feat achieved at the beginning of the season by Puerto Rican Roberto Rodriguez who won three straight crowns playing with different partners on each occasion.

Meanwhile, his fellow countrywomen Summer Ross, winner of the previous stop with Emily Day, will join now with Tealle Hunkus, who finished second in Trinidad & Tobago playing with Traci Weamer.

The potent men’s field for Aruba includes Cuba’s Karell Peña and Sergio Gonzalez, winners in Chiapas, México and also at home in Varadero, as well as Mexico’s Juan Virgen, who won at his own soil in Toluca with Lombardo Ontiveros, after finishing second in Chiapas with Aldo Miramontes.

Nicaragua’s Gerald Umaña and Henry Hernandez are fresh from their first ever medal in the circuit a silver at Trinidad & Tobago where the local pair of Fabien Whitfield and Daneil Williams claimed the bronze, also a first in the history for the country. The other previous medalists in this year’s competition are Saint Lucia’s Julian Biscette and Joseph Clercent, who won a bronze medal playing as locals.

The no less powerful women’s event features Mexico’s two-time winner Bibi Candelas who claimed the titles of Cayman Islands and Toluca with Mayra Garcia, combining now with Martha Revuelta, whom she paired to win the bronze in Chula Vista.

Earlier in the yeat Revuelta played with Vanessa Virgen to finish second at Cayman Islands, Toluca and Mayaguez, Puerto Rico, and at third in Boca Chica, Dominican Republic and Chiapas.

Other strong teams are the Puerto Rico-A of Yarleen Santiago and Yamileska Yantin, who won in Boca Chica and Mayaguez and Costa Rica-A of Ingrid Morales and Natalia Alfaro, who ended second in Boca Chica and Saint Lucia and came out third in Trinidad & Tobago.

The double-gender event consists of brackets of two sixteen teams that will compete under a double-elimination format with a US$5,000 total purse per gender.
At the conclusion of the Aruba’s event, the NORCECA Confederation will present a US$5,000 prize of per gender to the 2012 top-ranked countries per gender.

United States have secured the top place in the men’s division with an insurmountable 1,260 points but Canada (1,250), United States (1,240) and Mexico (1,080) are still in contention for the women’s top ranked place.

Men’s teams:

Aruba (Daniel Mitchel-Eargenel De Cuba); Barbados (Kyle Brown-Hugh Sealy); Cayman Islands (Philippe Guy Deslanoe-Olney Thompson); Costa Rica (Julio Cesar Alvarez-Luis Sandoval); Cuba (Karell Peña-Sergio González); Curacao (Homi Cathalina-Algidio Juliana); Dominican Republic (German Recio-Luis Adames); Grenada (Jonell Phillip-Darron Oxford; Guatemala (Andy Leonardo-Erick Garrido); Mexico (Juan Virgen-Lombardo Ontiveros); Nicaragua (Gerald Umaña-Henry Hernández); Panama (Domingo Ávila-Otto Penson); Saint Lucia (Julian Biscette-Joseph Clercent); Trinidad & Tobago (Fabien Whitfield-Daneil Williams); United States-A (William Montgomery-James Avery Drost); United States-B (Matthew Motter-Derek Olson).

Women’s teams:

Canada (Rosalie Sinanan-Kimberly Dalcourt); Cayman Islands (Jennifer Bily-Stefania Gandolfi); Costa Rica-A (Ingrid Morales-Natalia Alfaro); Costa Rica-B (Francine Morales-Valeria Valenciano); Cuba (Onayami Sinal-Lianna Flores); Dominican Republic (Diana Peguero-Nairobi Agramonte); Mexico (Bibi Candelas-Martha Revuelta); Nicaragua (Elia Torres-Swan Mendoza); Puerto Rico-A (Yarleen Santiago-Yamileska Yantin); Puerto Rico-B (Dariam Acevedo-Tatiana Encarnación); Saint Lucia (Indira Laurencin-Dania Hamilton); Saint Vincent & Grenadines (Nikita Campbell-Ladonna Woodley); Trinidad & Tobago (Shenelle Gordon-Lateisha Joseph); United States-A (Summer Ross-Tealle Hunkus); United States-B (Stevi Robinson-Kirby Burnham); US Virgin Islands (Jamie Farley-Laurie Bachler).
Results of the 2012 previous stops:

Place                             Women                                Men
Cayman Islands       Candelas/Garcia (MEX)   Rodriguez/Haddock (PUR)
Guatemala               Kropp/Pavlik (USA)        Rodriguez/Guzman (PUR)
Boca Chica, D. R.      Santiago/Yantin (PUR)   Rodriguez/Irizarry (PUR)
Chiapas, México       N.Sinal/Canet (CUB)       Peña/Gonzalez (CUB)
Toluca, México         Candelas/Garcia (MEX)   Virgen/Ontiveros (MEX)
Varadero, Cuba        Ballard/O.Sinal (CUB)     Peña/Gonzalez (CUB)
Mayagüez, P. Rico    Santiago/Yantín (PUR)    Rodríguez/Haddock (PUR)
Chula Vista, USA       Day/Hughes (USA)         Schalk/Saxton (CAN)
Saint Lucia               Babcock/Treamer (USA)  Montgomery/Mesko (USA)
Trinidad & Tobago     Day/Ross (USA)            Montgomery/Ciarelli (USA)

Download highresolution

| More


Other FIVB news