FIVB Volleyball Men's World Championship 2014

Press release

FIVB Men's World Championship draws near

The FIVB Men’s World Championship will begin in Warsaw, Poland on August 30.

Lausanne, Switzerland, July 30, 2014 – Excitement is growing among fans and athletes as the countdown to the FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Championship, Poland 2014 gets near.

In just one month, the FIVB Men’s World Championship will begin in Warsaw, Poland, continuing through September 21.

Qualifications for the elite event wrapped up last week, with Puerto Rico claiming the last of the 24 spots in the championships. It joins Italy, USA, Iran, France and Belgium in Pool D.

Pool A is comprised of hosts Poland, Argentina, Serbia, Australia, Cameroon and Venezuela. Brazil, Cuba Germany, Tunisia, Korea and Finland will battle in Pool B. Pool C will consist of Russia, Bulgaria, Canada, Egypt, China and Mexico.

Many of the teams got a warm-up for the biggest men’s volleyball event of the year, during the 2014 FIVB Volleyball Men’s World League. USA took gold in the annual event, while Brazil took home silver and Italy secured bronze.

The World Championships, however, will be anyone’s game, as teams soon begin their battle for the brand new trophy.

Watch the exclusive video of how the unique trophy was created:

Click here to find out more about The Trophy

Don’t miss any of the FIVB Men’s World Championship action! Follow @FIVBMensWCH on Twitter.

Download highresolution