July 17-21, 2013 – Mar del Plata, Argentina
Following seven gripping weeks of Intercontinental
Round pool play around the world, all eyes will turn
towards Mar del Plata, host of the 2013 FIVB Volleyball
World League Finals.The Finals will take place from July
to 21 at the Islas Malvinas Competition Hall.
The host city and country have an extensive history of
organising volleyball events having staged the FIVB
World League Final Round in 1999, the 2002 FIVB
Men’s World Championships and three FIVB Beach
Volleyball World Tour Opens from 1998 to 2000. In
the Argentine city of Cordoba played host to the
World League Finals.
Finals of six
The FIVB Volleyball World League Finals will see six
teams compete for the 2013 World League title. The
top two teams from Pools A and B, plus the winners of
Pool C and the host country will take part in the Finals.
As Argentina is in Pool A and is already among the
qualified teams, the best ranked team of Pool A – not
already qualified – will be selected.
The teams are divided in two Pools of three teams each
and will play a round-robin format during the first three
days.The two top teams from each pool will advance to
crossed semifinals (1st Pool E v 2nd Pool F and 1st Pool
F v 2nd Pool E) and final matches.Teams ranked third in
each pool will be eliminated.
Five days
Estadio Islas Malvinas (Competition Hall)
Six teams (Argentina + five to be defined)
Two pools of three teams
Round-robin for the pool play
A total of 10 matches