FIVB - Women's Volleyball World Cup 2011

Competition Formula

The 23rd edition of the world’s premier annual men’s volleyball tournament will be held from May 18 to July 1 with the Finals set to take place in Sofia, Bulgaria from July 4 to 8.

For the first time in the tournament’s history, the World League Intercontinental Round, still featuring 16 teams across four pools, will be played across four weeks with each country hosting all four teams in their respective pool on one weekend each.

The change in competition format is to accommodate a busy schedule which includes qualification tournaments for the London 2012 Olympic Games and also takes into consideration other sporting events which currently crowd the calendar ahead of the Olympics.

Like 2010, the Finals will feature six teams, with the four pool winners and best runners-up joining Bulgaria.


Quick links:

Intercontinental Round - Pools Composition

Intercontinental Round - Match Schedule: Pool A | Pool B | Pool C | Pool D




Six sides — Canada, China, Egypt, Portugal, Puerto Rico and Slovakia — competed in the World League qualification tournaments in 2011.

Canada and Portugal qualified for the 2012 FIVB World League.


Click here to see the full results