FIVB - Volleyball World League

20 teams to compete for 2013 title


Seasoned spectators can expect some stiff competition at the 2013 FIVB World Grand Prix. Following a decision by the World Grand Prix Council in December 2012, the premier annual FIVB women’s volleyball event will expand to 20 teams, four more than in last year’s edition. In 2013, the FIVB World Grand Prix will return to Japan for the first time in four years, which should please Olympic champions Brazil, who have won the tournament the last three times (2005, 2008, 2009) it has been played there.

 However, Brazil will have to face the task of getting past the US, who clinched the 2012 title to remain undefeated for three years in a row. Although Brazil finished as runners-up each time during the Americans’ dominant run, they are the only team along with the US to have also won the title three times from 2004 to 2006.

The World Grand Prix Finals will return to Japan for the first time since 2009 and take place in Sapporo from August 28 to September 1. Japan has hosted the World Grand Prix Finals four times in the past with Sapporo being a fifth host city after Tokyo in 2009, Yokohama in 2008, Sendai in 2005 and Kobe in 1997.

Following the Preliminary Round, the organisers and the next best five teams will qualify for the Finals. The World Grand Prix featured eight teams in its debut season of 1993 and from 1995 to 2002, while 12 teams were in action in 1994 and from 2003 to 2010. Sixteen teams have been involved in the 2011 and 2012 editions.

FIVB Social Links