FIVB $1 Million World Grand Prix

For information on television rights for FIVB World Grand Prix properties

Live score
Match Reports
Best Players
Press & Media
Match Schedule
Team Rosters & Pools
Team Profiles
Player Profiles
Coach Profiles
General Info
 2002 Info
Pools confirmed for premier women's competition
Lausanne, Switzerland, June 27, 2003 _ The drawing of lots for the International Volleyball Federation’s (FIVB) major annual clash in women’s volleyball, the World Grand Prix has determined that hosts and current World Champions Italy will meet USA , Japan, Netherlands, Cuba and German in Pool A while title holders Russia will meet China, Canada, Korea, Thailand and Brazil in Pool B.The announcement was made at a press conference held in the Castel del Monte on Thursday afternoon.
Pool play starts July 21 to 26, with one rest day, while resuming on July 25-26. The final will be played in the city of Andria on August 2-3 in the Palasport. The competiton format is single round robin and brings the top 12 teams in the world to Puglia and Basilicata, two southern regions of Italy near the city of Bari.
more Spanish match schedule Pic: Italy, last year's world Champions will have the opportunity to perform well a t home in this year's World Grand Prix 

Photo gallery of Award Winners

European World Grand Prix qualification begins
August 26, 2003 - The six-day European qualification tournament for the 2004 World Grand Prix starts on Tuesday in Pila, Poland with Greece opening proceedings at 12:00 GMT with their match against Bulgaria. More German

Poland confirmed as organizers of Europe's 2004 World Grand Prix preliminaries
Luxembourg, July 22, 2003. For the very first time in the history of the FIVB World Grand Prix, the prestigious FIVB annual women's competition and carrier of one million dollars in prize money, Europe will have the privilege to organize its own preliminary round for the 2004 edition. More

Nine teams confirmed for 2004 edition
LAUSANNE, Switzerland, Friday, July 04 - The International Volleyball Federation (FIVB) announced on Friday that nine teams from a possible 12 have confirmed their places in the 2004 edition of the FIVB's premier annual competition for women, the $1 Million World Grand Prix. More

Pic: USA in action at the Pan Am Cup In Mexico this month

Dates and competition format for premier women’s event
LAUSANNE, Switzerland, Wednesday, June 18 – The International Volleyball Federation (FIVB) announced on Wednesday the dates, pools and venues for their premier annual competition for women, the $1 Million World Grand Prix, to be held in Italy this year. The tournament will now be played in three cities in southern Italy - Gioia del Colle, Matera and Andria - all near Bari, from July 21 to August 3. The draw for the pool matches will be confirmed next week. The success of the competition in previous years has seen the number of teams expand from eight to 12 in 2003. These 12 teams have been split into two pools with Pool A consisting of hosts Italy, the USA, Cuba, Japan, the Netherlands and Germany while World No 1 and defending World Grand Prix champions Russia is joined by China, Brazil, Canada, Thailand and Korea in Pool B. more French Spanish German Pic: Top action guaranteed in World Grand Prix.

Most important annual women's tournament goes ahead; Moves to Europe because of SARS Crisis
LAUSANNE, Switzerland, Friday, May 23 - The International Volleyball Federation (FIVB) announced on Friday that their premier annual competition for women, the $1 Million World Grand Prix, will go ahead as planned, but will be staged entirely in Italy to preserve the competition in the face of the Severe Acute Respiratory syndrome (SARS) crisis in some of the traditional Asian host countries.The FIVB Board of Administration when they met at the beginning of May delegated power to President Rubén Acosta to review the situation after three weeks and make a decision about whether, in view of the unprecedented health crisis, to go ahead with the World Grand Prix in 2003. More. Spanish Pic: Russia took first place at the 2002 Grand Prix

12 teams in 2003

Update 25/4 - Canada comes in for Dominican Republic

The FIVB World Grand Prix in 2003 celebrates its 11th edition with the addition of four teams to allow 12 of the world's elite women's teams to contest this prestige annual competition.
From Europe, these include title-holder Russia, 2002 world champions Italy, Germany, who finished third last year and Netherlands, back after a two-year absence.  Japan, China and Thailand continue their World Grand Prix presence for Asia, with Korea back in the "WGP family" after a year's break. 
From Norceca, stalwarts Cuba are joined by USA, the silver medallists from the 2002 World Championship, as well as the inaugural appearance of Canada. Brazil represents South America while making its fourth WGP appearance. Pic (right 1) Chinese attack against Russia not enough to take the 2002 title

World Grand Prix Milestones
1993 - The competition is launched with eight teams from Cuba, China, Russia, Brazil, Korea, Japan, USA and Germany playing for $400,000 prize money. Cuba takes the inaugural title.
1994 - Four new teams Chinese Taipei, Italy, Netherlands and Peru play for the first time and the final is won by Brazil who defeats titleholders Cuba in Shanghai.
1995 - The competition reverts to its original eight-team format, with the original eight teams from 1993 competing. Legs are held in Honolulu and Brazil for the first time and the USA pulls off a surprise by defeating Brazil in the final.
1996 - The eight best teams from the Atlanta Olympic tournament play off for the title. Olympic champions Cuba are defeated by Brazil in the final round in Shanghai.
1997 - Defending champion Brazil does not compete and are replaced by Italy. At the finals in Kobe, Japan, Russia win their first title in a tough match with Cuba.
1998 - The competition format is changed for the final round with traditional semifinals, final and match for bronze replacing the traditional round robin system. India hosts their first-ever world volleyball event with thousands of spectators flocking to Chennai. Ten thousand people see the final in Hong Hong's Coliseum where Brazil picks up their third title, beating Russia.
1999 - With now $1 million in prize money at stake, Russia overpowers Brazil in the final at Yu Xi, China for their second WGP title. The Russians dominate the competition with superior height and fire power.
2000 - The much honored Cuban side clinches the Grand Slam, taking the WGP title by defeating Russia to add to their 1996 Olympic gold medal and the 1999 World Cup title in Manila, Philippines in front of 10,750 fans
2001 - The USA defeats China in the final for their second WGP title, overpowering china with superior serving, blocking and spiking.
2002 - Russia beats China and claims their third FIVB World Grand Prix title, with Germany pulling off a surprise victory over Brazil to take home the gold medal.

Need accommodation packages for World Grand Prix 2003?? (click here and go to "Sport e Tourismo" for info in English and Italian

Italian Federation World Grand Prix website

2002: What a year for World Grand Prix!