FIVB - Women's Volleyball World Cup 2011

World League expands further in 2015

The FIVB Volleyball World League 2015 is expected to be the biggest and best yet with the 26th edition of the tournament expanding to include a record 32 teams.

Each country will be split across eight pools of exciting action and continues the on-going growth of the competition after the 2014 edition welcomed 28 teams for the first time.

Nine-time winners and 2014 silver medallists Brazil head Pool A alongside bronze medallists from the last edition Italy, three-time silver medallists Serbia as well as Australia who were promoted from Group 2.

Reigning champions USA will begin the defence of their crown in Pool B and will take on 2013 winners Russia, world champions Poland and the ever-improving Iran.

Pool C features Bulgaria, Canada, Argentina and Cuba with the latter promoted after their triumph in the Group 3 finals in 2014. France and Germany will have a chance to re-enact their World Championship bronze medal match in Pool D will also face Korea and Czech Republic. Belgium, the Netherlands, Finland and Portugal complete Group 2 in Pool E.

Montenegro will make their bow in the tournament in Pool F with Turkey, Puerto Rico and Tunisia. Greece return for the first time in a decade in Pool G and will face Mexico, Slovakia and China while Egypt are also back after a five-year absence in Pool H along with debutants Kazakhstan and Japan and Spain.

The World League featured eight teams in its inaugural year in 1990, 10 in 1991, 12 from 1992-2000 and 2004-05, 16 from 2001-2003 and 2006-2012 and then 18 in the 2013 edition.


FIVB Social Links