Australia and Thailand win third
stop at 2013 AVC Beach Tour
Australia’s Sam Boehm/Cole Durant took
men’s gold at the third leg of the 2013 AVC
Beach Tour. The duo beat Thailand’s Andy
Ardiansyah/Dian Putra Santosa in straight
sets (21-13, 21-15) while New Zealand's Sam
O'Dea/Brandon Heath defeated countrymen
Ben O’Dea/Jason Lochhead 2-1 (13-21, 21-
13, 17-15)
for third place. Thailand’s Radarong
Varapatsorn/Udomchavee Tanaratha won the
women’s competition, beating Australians
Jessyka Ngauamo/Mariafe Arfacho 2-1 (21-
18, 18-21, 15-11)
in the final. Japan’s Seiko/
Chiyo won bronze against Australians Jordan
and Justine Mowen 2-1 (21-15, 16-21, 15-10).
At the CAVB U23 Beach Volleyball Cup,
Rwanda’s men's team Oliver/Thierry took
home the gold medal following their 2-0
(21-17, 21-19)
victory over Zimbabwe duo
Katemanyoka/Chiozwa. Egypt’s Rashid/
Askalani defeated Kenya's Eknoit/Walukaya
2-0 (21-18, 21-13)
for the third spot. In the
women’s competition, Kenya’s Gaudencia/
Naomie won the gold medal match in
straight sets (21-12, 21-19) while Rwanda
came in second with a 2-1 record and
Zimbabwe took third place with a 1-2 record.
The teams have all qualified for the 2013
FIVB U23 World Championship that will be
held from June 6 to 9 in Poland.
Brazil’s Franco retires from
Beach Volleyball
Mexico and Canada come out on
top in Guatemala
Rwanda and Kenya clinch gold
at African U23 Beach Cup
New coach for Poland's national
women's team
Brazil’s Ceará Franco, 46, has announced
his retirement from professional beach
volleyball after an illustrious 24 year career
in the game. Aside from winning numerous
titles on the Brazilian Beach Volleyball
circuit, Franco has also won World Tour
titles in 1993 and 1995 as well as a bronze
medal at the 1999 Pan American Games in
Winnipeg. Over his career Franco partnered
with Loyola, Harley, Tande, Pedro Cunha,
Nalbert, Lipe, Jan, Bruno Schmidt, Daniel
Souza and Roberto Lopes. Following his
announcement, Franco was honoured by
the Brazilian Volleyball Federation at an
event held in Brasília.
Mexico’s Juan Virgen and Lombardo
Ontiveros won the men’s Guatemala Beach
Volleyball Tournament, the third stop on the
NORCECA Circuit, with a 2-1 (16-21,
21-16, 16-14)
victory over Cuba’s Karell Peña
and Sergio Gonzalez. Puerto Rico’s Roberto
Rodriguez/Erik Haddock beat USA’s Stafford
Slick and John Mayer for the bronze medal
2-1 (24-22, 16-21, 15-12).
Canada’s Kacie
MacTavish and Caleigh Whitaker won the
women’s gold medal with a 2-0 (21-17, 21-16)
victory over USA’s Jenny Kropp and Whitney
Pavlik. The bronze medal went to Americans
Brittany Hochevar and Emily Day, who
defeated Guatemala’s María Jose Orellana and
Lourdes Ramírez 2-0 (21-13, 21-8).
Piotr Makowski has been appointed
coach of Poland’s national women’s team.
Makowski, 45, was assistant coach of the
women’s team from March 2009 to June
that won third place at the CEV
European Volleyball Championship in 2009.
Makowski will be charged with improving
a team that is currently ranked 15
in the
world and did not qualify for the London
Olympic Games. Poland will take part
in the Preliminary Rounds of the FIVB World
Grand Prix and will look to advance to the
finals in Sapporo, Japan from August 28 to
September 1.
N° 8/24
april 2013
Official Bulletin of the FIVB
FIVB founded in 1947
Dr. Ary S. Graça F°
Château Les Tourelles
Ch. Edouard-Sandoz 2-4
CH-1006 Lausanne
+ 41 21 345 35 35
+ 41 21 345 35 45
Press Department