FIVB VolleyWorld 11/2013 - English - page 12

Stare Jablonki in Poland had long waited for its chance to host
the FIVB Beach Volleyball World Championships and when its
time finally came the lakeside venue did not disappoint.
The FIVB Beach Volleyball World Championships Mazury 2013 will be
remembered above all for its two winning teams, who were able to
celebrate for widely contrasting reasons.
China’s Chen Xue and Zhang Xi had been among the leading sides
on the women’s FIVB Beach Volleyball World Tour for a number of
years, but had never landed a major title. They were bronze medal-
lists at the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing and also finished third at
the 2011 FIVB Beach Volleyball World Championships in Rome.
China and the
Netherlands top
the world in Poland
They ended the 2012 Olympic Games in London disappointed with
their fourth place finish and went into the 2013 FIVB Beach Volleyball
World Championships having taken the gold medal at the Fuzhou
Open in China.
Although they got off to a shaky start losing to Finnish twin sisters
Emilia and Erika Nystrom in the pool stage, the Chinese duo picked
up the pace and eventually took on Germany’s Karla Borger and Brit-
ta Büthe in the final. It was the furthest the German duo had ever
been in a tournament and the final had everyone on tenterhooks as
the points swung back and forth. Despite needing six match points
the Chinese duo eventually won the World Championship title.
In the men’s competition Robert Meeuwsen and Alexander Brouwer
became the first Dutch team to win the FIVB Beach Volleyball World
Championships, though neither had imagined that they would finish
with the title at the start of the tournament.
Having won twice in the pool stage their confidence grew as they
continued their winning ways and eliminated compatriots Reinder
Nummerdor and Richard Schuil as well as Brazil’s Pedro Salgado and
Bruno Schmidt.
In the semifinals they defeated Germany’s Jonathan Erdmann and
Kay Matysik and then defeated another Brazilian side, Ricardo San-
tos and Alvaro Filho to claim gold and bring the curtain down on a
memorable seven days in Poland’s north-east.
Women (July 1 to 7, 2013)
Chen Xue/Zhang Xi (CHN)
Karla Borger/ Britta Büthe (GER)
Liliane Maestrini / Barbara Seixas (BRA)
Men (July 1 to 7, 2013)
Alexander Brouwer /Robert Meeuwsen (NED)
Ricardo Santos/ Alvaro Filho (BRA)
Jonathan Erdmann/ Kay Matysik (GER)
I...,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11 13,14,15,16,17,18,19,20,21,22,...28
Powered by FlippingBook