FIVB VolleyWorld 11/2013 - English - page 11

There was double Brazilian joy at the inaugural FIVB Beach
Volleyball World Cup Final as the women’s duo of Talita An-
tunes and Maria Antonelli and the men’s team of Alison Ce-
rutti and Emanuel Rego carried off the gold medals in front of
ecstatic home crowds in Campinas.
The tournament was a culmination of the three-year Continental Cup
Olympic Games qualification tournament, which included the FIVB
World Cup Olympic Qualification in Moscow in June 2012, which
also qualified teams for the Olympic Games in London that year.
Brazilian duos
ensure home delight
in Campinas
The Beach Volleyball World Cup Final featured 10 teams each in the
men’s and women’s competition, represented by different nations
with prize money of US$150,000 per gender up for grabs.
For both winning teams their gold medal success was a final hurrah
as a partnership. Although Talita Antunes and Maria Antonelli had
reunited solely for the Beach Volleyball World Cup Final having al-
ready split at the end of 2012, few would have predicted that Alison
and Emanuel would be unable to add further World Tour gold med-
als in 2013. The 2011 world champions went their separate ways in
November 2013, meaning that their win over USA’s Jacob Gibb and
Casey Patterson in the Beach Volleyball World Cup Final was the last
time that they topped an FIVB podium in tandem.
They weren’t the only teams who turned back the clock and won a
medal. Latvia’s Martins Plavins and Janis Smedins who had split soon
after their surprise bronze medal finish at the 2012 Olympic Games
in London, joined forces once again in Campinas. They showed that
they were still a potent pair when they beat Germany’s Jonathan
Erdmann and Kay Matysik in the FIVB Beach Volleyball World Cup
Final bronze-medal match.
In the women’s competition Brazil’s Talita Da Rocha Antunes and Ma-
ria Antonelli defeated the London 2012 silver medallists, USA’s April
Ross and Jennifer Kessy, while Germany’s Katrin Holtwick and Ilka
Semmler defeated Australia’s Taliqua Clancy and Louise Bawden to
win the bronze medal.
Women’s competition (December 11 to 14, 2013)
Maria Antonelli/Talita Da Rocha Antunes (BRA)
April Ross/Jennifer Kessy (USA)
Katrin Holtwick/Ilka Semmler (GER)
Men’s competition (December 11 to 14, 2013)
Alison Cerutti/Emanuel Rego (BRA)
Jacob Gibb/Casey Patterson (USA)
Martins Plavins/Janis Smedins (LAT)
I...,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10 12,13,14,15,16,17,18,19,20,21,...28
Powered by FlippingBook