FIVB - Volleyball World League

Florence, Italy - jULY 16 TO 20


Following seven weekends of intercontinental round matches, Pool A & B will hold a Final in Florence, Italy featuring the top two teams from Pool A & B, hosts Italy and the winner from the Final Four from Pools C, D and E.  

The six teams will meet from July 16 to 20 to decide the team that will take away the 2014 World League title.

Host Country: Italy

Italy is no stranger to volleyball, with its men’s national team having dominated international volleyball competitions in the 1990s and early 2000s, by winning three FIVB World Championships in a row (1990, 1994 and 1998), six European Championships, one World Cup (1995) and eight World League titles (1990, 1991, 1992, 1994, 1995, 1997, 1999 and 2000).

They are currently the third best team in the world and finished last year’s edition of the FIVB World League with a bronze medal.

Host City: Florence

Florence will be the fourth Italian city to host a World League Final following Rome (2004), Milan (1998, 1994 and 1991) and Genova (1992) and caps a bumper year for Italy, who will also host the FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Championship in the cities of Rome, Trieste, Verona, Bari, Modena and Milan from September 23 to October 12 and the FIVB Congress in Milan from October 31 to November 1.

The city of Parma hosted the FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Championship Drawing of Lots on March10.

Venue: Nelson Mandela Forum

Venue: Nelson Mandela Forum, formerly Palazzetto dello sport di Firenze and Palasport, is an indoor sports arena located in Florence, Italy. Inaugurated in 1985, the arena has a seating capacity of 9,000 people. A well-known venue for international rock concerts and sporting events, the Forum has also hosted matches of the FIVB Men’s Volleyball World Championship in 2010.

Quick links

Intercontinental Round - Match Schedule overview by pools


Participating teams