Menu WL
WL2006 Home
Competition Info
Match Info
LIVE Scorebox
Best Players
Previous Editions



FIVB World League 2006

The 2006 Volleyball World League reaches new heights!

After the historic decision by the Volleyball World League Council in 2005, prize money for the 2006 World League was set at a record USD 20 million and thus set an unprecedented level for a global team sport event. USD 2 million of the 20 million total will fund a special bonus pool in order to reward the participating National Federations.

Equally unprecedented is the total of 16 countries (previously only 12 national teams participated) that will be taking part in the event. The FIVB selected from among 18 candidates the following 16 countries that were bidding for one of the vacancies in this prestigious event: BRAZIL, CUBA, POLAND, SERBIA & MONTENEGRO (the four 2005 World League finalists in Belgrade), RUSSIA and the UNITED STATES, both coming back after several years of absence due to an internal reorganization, FRANCE, ITALY, PORTUGAL, FINLAND and BULGARIA are the other European powers in the League that will face JAPAN, KOREA and CHINA from Asia plus ARGENTINA from South America and EGYPT the first ever representative from Africa in the competition.

The participation of Egypt makes the World League the first international sport event to be played across all five continents. The tournament will see a total of 96 matches, with four pools of four teams, each team playing the other teams in the pool twice in home and away matches. The winners of each pool will go through to join the host team and a wild card in the final round.