WGP2008 Home
Match Schedule
LIVE Scorebox
Match Info
Best players
Best players for the final round
Competition Info
How they Qualified
Previous Editions
  World Grand Prix Competition Formula  


The 2008 World Grand Prix lasts four weeks with a total of 69 matches
During the first, second and third week each team will play nine matches in total.

Preliminary Rounds will be organised in Japan, Italy, Poland, Macau, Hong Kong, China, Thailand, Vietnam and Chinese Taipei.

The Finals of the 2008 World Grand Prix will be played in Yokohama, Japan. The event will be played over five days and the best five teams after the Preliminary Rounds as well as host country Japan will qualify. A round-robin system will be played to decide the 2008 World Grand Prix Champion.     

Classification in the Preliminary Rounds is decided by the number of points gained by teams participating in the same group.
The classification in the general ranking of the Preliminary Rounds of the 2008 WGP is decided by the total number of World Grand Prix Points (GPP) gained by the teams in the preliminary matches.

The following points will be gained by each team:

Match won: 2 World Grand Prix Points
Match lost: 1 World Grand Prix Point
Match forfeited: 0 World Grand Prix Points




In each group the round-robin system will be applied, with the order of the Pool composition determined by the FIVB.

For the final round, host team Japan plus the top five ranked teams after the preliminary rounds will qualify.

The final round will be played over five days and 15 matches will be played in total.

Asian Teams and host organisers Japan, China, Thailand and Kazakhstan
European Teams and host organiser Italy, Turkey, Germany and Poland (via WGPQT 2007)      
Norceca/South American Teams Brazil, Cuba, Dominican Republic and USA (via WGPQT 2007)