FIVB Volleyball Women's World Championship 2014



A total of 24 teams will contest in the next edition of the women's World Championship taking place in Italy in 2014. The host country being automatically qualified for the quadriennal event, this leaves 23 vacancies open for other countries of the world.

Qualifying tournaments are held within the five FIVB Confederations (AVC, CAVB, CEV, CSV and NORCECA) to determine the 23 participants who will join Italy. A total of 141 national federations have registered for the men's qualification ((up from 101 in 2010) .

The qualification process started in May 2012 and will run until June 2014.

As per the FIVB sports regulations, the number of spots awarded by the FIVB for each Confederation for the next World Championships is as follows:

Distribution of vacancies per Confederation
AVC Asia 4
CAVB Africa 2
CEV Europe Italy (Hosts) + 9
CSV South America 2
NORCECA North, Carribean and Central America 6



NFs registered 15
Nb. of tournaments 5
Period Qualification Tournaments
(4 spots)

No 1st Round

June 14-30, 2013
2nd Round

 September 4-October 1, 2013
3rd Round


NFs registered 38
Nb. of tournaments 19
Period Qualifications tournaments
(2 spots)

May-July 2013
1st Round

October-November 2013
2nd Round

January 2014
3rd Round


NFs registered 41 + Italy
Nb. of tournaments 13
Period September 6-14, 2013
CEV European Champs
(2 spots)

Qualifications tournaments
(7 spots)

May 24-26, 2013
1st Round

October 2-6, 2013
2nd Round

January 3-5, 2014
3rd Round


NFs registered 7
Nb. of tournaments 2
Period September, 2013

South American Champs
(2 spots)


Teams registered 39
Nb. of tournaments 20
Period May 2012 - July 2014

Qualification Tournaments
(5 spots)

Playoff Tournament
(1 spot)