FIVB Volleyball Men's World Championship 2014


A total of 24 teams will compete for the title in the FIVB Volleyball Men's World Championship Poland 2014 which will take place from 30 August - 21 September 2014. The host country has automatically qualified for the quadriennal event, and the other 23 vacancies were determined through qualifying tournaments held within the five FIVB Confederations (AVC, CAVB, CEV, CSV and NORCECA).

A total of 148 teams played in the men’s world championship qualification process.

As per the FIVB sports regulations, the number of spots awarded by the FIVB for each Confederation for the next World Championships is as follows:


Distribution of vacancies per Confederation
AVC Asia 4
CAVB Africa 3
CEV Europe Poland (Hosts) + 8
CSV South America 3
NORCECA North, Carribean and Central America 5
NB: The criteria of vacancies is based on the number of teams participating in the qualification phase and percentage of teams placed in the top 12 at previous World Championships.


The 24 teams will be spread across four pools of six teams playing in a round-robin system with the top four teams advancing to a second round of preliminary matches featuring two pools of eight teams.

The top two teams from each third round pool will then advance to the semifinals and finals with - in the only difference to the FIVB Volleyball Women's World Championship Italy 2014 competition formula - the third ranked teams in the third round pools also playing off for fifth place.