WU-20 Home
Competition Info
LIVE Scorebox
Matches reports
Press & Articles
Teams & Coaches
Best Players
Previous Editions
Press & News
                                                                    More 2005 Junior Women’s Under-20 World Championship News
Brazil win title once again

Ankara, Turkey, July 31, 2005 - The FIVB Junior Women’s U20 World Championship came to a close on Sunday night, here in Ankara, when Brazil claimed the trophy from Serbia & Montenegro, in an interesting four set match, that was a worthy conclusion to the tournament. Brazil became the title holder for the third successive time and also collected their fifth title overall.

In the final in Ankara (Ataturk Hall), Brazil beat Serbia & Montenegro 3-1 (22-25, 25-12,25-16,25-14), in a repeat result from the fifth day of the Preliminary round. In their thirteen participation so far, Brazil have now won the trophy in 1987, 1989, 2001, 2003 and 2005 and finished second in 1991, 1995 and 1999.

Brazil received solid performances from their starters and sent out a warning to the Volleyball world, that they remain an indomitable school for tomorrow’s stars. The Brazilian head coach, Antonio Rizola Neto said; ‘‘We are the champions. I’m very happy for my third consecutive personal title and fifth in total.’’ It was also the second success for Brazil on Sunday after their Youth Girls U18 team also won gold in Macau, China.

Serbia and Montenegro played with what was left of their strength and heart to finish in second place in the final standings for the first time of their history. Serbia and Montenegro participated in 1977 and 1999, finishing in ninth place. “It’s a success for Serbia & Montenegro, who have been working very creatively in the last years, and on the women’s game,” coach Zoran Kovacic said. ‘‘I’m very happy. No one thought that we could be the champions, but we played in the final.’’

China ran the marathon with Italy, finally taking a 3-2 (25-19, 16-25, 25-19, 19-25, 15-12) victory, in Ankara (Ataturk Hall) to finish their World Championship, in third place, while the European champions Italy finished in fourth. The Asian team also beat the Europeans 3-2, in the third day of Preliminary round, in Istanbul.

China, having participated in all tournaments so far (thirteen), have taken a gold medal (1995), two silver medals (1977 and 2003) as well as five bronze ones (1985, 1987, 1997, 2001 and 2005). Italy took a silver medal (1997) in their nine participations.

In their last game in Istanbul (Haldun Alagas Sport Hall), in front of their warm fans, hosts Turkey lost to Japan 3-1 in the classification match. They finish in sixth place in the tournament, whereas the Asian team was classified in fifth. This is the best place Turkey has ever finished so far, as they were in 13th in 1999, 8th in 2001 and 9th in 2003.

Finally, Russia, after three consecutive defeats, beat Puerto Rico 3-1 (25-16,25-21,22-25,25-19) in Istanbul, to finish in seventh place.

Individual awards: Most Valuable player: VESOVITS Jovanna (Serbia & Montenegro), Best Scorer : KIMURA Saori (Japan), Best spiker: YIN Meng (China), Best blocker: SILVA Adenizia (Brazil), Best server: FLORES Barbara (Puerto Rico)

The winners of the Junior Women's Under-20 World Championship since the tournament’s inception are: 1977: Korea, 1981: Korea, 1985: Cuba, 1987: Brazil, 1989: Brazil, 1991: Soviet Union, 1993: Cuba, 1995: China, 1997: Russia, 1999: Russia, 2001: Brazil, 2003: Brazil, 2005: Brazil