FIVB Park Volley  

1st Bulilit Pinoy Park Volley Championships


Development Programmes
Volleyball Cooperation Programme
Development Centres
Park Volley
Volleyball at School
Mass Volley
International cooperation
Organisation of Events
Coaches Manual I
Technical Video Evaluation

The 1st Bulilit Pinoy Park Volley Tournament was held on 27 and 28 March 2004 at the Luneta National Park, Manila, Philippines. Eight courts were installed on the Luneta National Park grounds for the event.

The Luneta National Park is the main park of the Philippine capital city of Manila, located beside the Rizal Monument where their national hero is buried.

It successfully gathered 60 teams for the boys, girls and mixed divisions from 24 public elementary schools in the host city.

 Opening Ceremonies (27 March 2004)

1st Bulilit Pinoy Park Volley Championships officially began at 8:15 am with a parade of the participating schools at the Luneta National Park. Manila Sports Council (MaSCo) Chairman Arnold “Ali” Atienza, representing the City of Manila, the Mayor, Lito Atienza, welcomed the participants to the event.

Philippine Amateur Volleyball Association (PAVA) President Roger Banzuela also spoke on the merits of volleyball and encouraged the children to work harder to achieve their dreams of becoming champions while overcoming adversities. The International Volleyball Federation (FIVB) Development Commission’s Member, Ramon Suzara, also the project director of the Bulilit Pinoy event, gave a short backgrounder on park volley and acknowledged the presence of sports officials and corporate sponsors supporting the programme.

Keynote speaker for the morning was the Minister of Sports Eric Buhain. The seven-time South East Asian Games gold medallist encouraged the children to be active in sports and fulfil their dreams to become national athletes. PAVA Acting Secretary General Augusto Santamaria, National Parks Development Committee (NPDC) Deputy Executive Director Carlito Pablo and other volleyball officials were also present. Mikasa Philippines brand manager, Carol Bonifacio, gave the ceremonial toss together with Chairman Buhain and Mr. Atienza.

Elimination matches for the boys, girls and mixed divisions were played from 9:30 am to 4:00 pm of that day and from 9:00 am to 3:00 pm on 28 March 2004.

Championship Round (28 March 2004)

After the elimination matches where games were decided in one (1) set of 25 points, Championships matches for all divisions were played at around 4:00 pm. A big crowd gathered around the three (3) courts where the final games were held.

The final results of the Championships are as follows:

1st Place: Barrio Obrero Elementary School 1st Place: Sta. Ana Elementary School
2nd Place: Manuyo Elementary School 2nd Place: J. Lukban Elementary School
3rd Place: District V Elementary School 3rd Place: Barrio Obrero Elementary School
1st Place: J. Lukban Elementary School
2nd Place: Barrio Obrero Elementary School
3rd Place: A. Regidor Elementary School

Gifty Liann dela Cruz (jersey no. 2, Sta. Ana) was named Most Valuable Player for the girls’ division, while Manuyo’s Brian Paul Torreda (jersey no. 3) bested his male competitors for the Most Valuable Player award in his division.

Awarding Ceremonies (28 March 2004)

Immediately after the last championship game was concluded, awards were given out to the top three teams per division and the Most Valuable Players.

FIVB’s Ramon Suzara and MaSCo’s Ronnie Rolle led the awarding ceremonies. Champion teams per division were awarded cash prizes, trophies and medals from MaSCo, baseball caps and backpacks, and a park volley ball from Mikasa. Second and third place teams received cash prizes, trophies and medals from MaSCo and volleyballs courtesy of the PSC. MVP’s also got cash prizes and medals, while all schools received volleyballs donated by the PSC.


The following entities supported the launch of the 1st Bulilit Pinoy Park Volley Championships on 27 and 28 March 2004 at the Luneta National Park, City of Manila, Philippines:

1. Manila Sports Council (MaSCo)

2. Philippine Sports Commission (PSC)

3. Philippine Amateur Volleyball Association (PAVA)

4. National Parks Development Committee (NPDC)

5. Accel (official t-shirt provider)

6. Mikasa (official park volley ball provider)

7. Nestea Lemon Iced Tea drink

8. Bayview Park Hotel


Park volley fever hits Manila!