Volley WorldWorld Volley NewsYear BookRules - VolleyballRules - Beach volleyballMedical
Online AccreditationLogin for Media Club members
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Foreign players competing in United States collegiate championships

The United States' 2018 National Collegiate Beach Volleyball Championship begin Friday in Gulf Shores, Ala.
Indianapolis, USA, April 29, 2018 - When the United States' 2018 National Collegiate Beach Volleyball Championship begin on Friday in Gulf Shores, several foreign players will be featured as the eight-school field was announced here Sunday from the 69 institutions sponsoring the sport.

When the collegiate beach volleyball season started in March, there were 102 foreign players from 32 countries listed on school rosters for the 2018 campaign. Heading the list of foreign players bound for the NCAA championships are competitors from Canada, Italy, Latvia and Puerto Rico.

The University of California, Los Angeles, the top-ranked collegiate team in the United States and the top-seed school in the NCAAs, are led by the McNamara twins (Megan and Nicole, Vancouver, B.C, Canada). The Canadians have been regulars at UCLA the past three seasons and have won 31 of 38 matches this season as the Bruins’ No. 1 team.

Other top foreign players at the NCAAs will be Emily Maglio (Coquitlam, B.C. Canada) and Lea Monkhouse (Mississauga, Ont., Canada) of the University of Hawai'i, Moana, Margherita Bianchin (Traviso, Italy) and Federica Frasca (Rome, Italy) at Florida International, Tina Graudina (Jumala, Latvia) of the University of Southern California, Eva Torruella (San Juan, Puerto Rico) of Florida State University.

Three schools were selected from the east region (Florida International, Florida State and the University of South Carolina, Columbia) and three institutions were selected from the west region (Pepperdine University, UCLA and Hawai'i). The remaining two schools (Louisiana State University and the Southern California) were selected at-large from the teams across the country. 

All eight schools were then seeded in order are as follows:
2. Pepperdine
3. Hawai’i
4. Florida State
5. Southern California
6. South Carolina
7. LSU
8. FIU

The championship will be held Friday through Sunday and will be televised live by ESPN networks, with ESPNU providing live coverage on Friday starting at 10 a.m. ET. Live coverage will continue Saturday on ESPN2, starting at 2 p.m. ET and Sunday at 11:30 a.m. on ESPN2. The championship dual will air on ESPN Sunday at 2 p.m. ET. Additionally, live streaming coverage of every court throughout the tournament will be available on ESPN3.  All championship site match times and more information about the championship, log on to www.ncaa.com/beachvolleyball.

Here's a list of foreign players that are on the roster of NCAA-bound schools with their season match record and playing position.
Dorina Klinger, Feldkirchen, Florida International, 12-11, No. 2 & 3

Mariana Dal Pozzo, Toledo, Florida International, 19-8, No. 4 & 5
Mariana De Paula Silva, Sao Jose dos Campos, Florida International, 3-0, No. 5

Allyssah Fitterer, Victoria, B.C., Hawai'i, 2-1, No. 5
Katie Friesen, Manitoba, Canada, Florida International, 7-3, No. 2 & 3
Emily Maglio, Coquitlam, B.C., Hawai'i, 34-4, No. 1
Molly McBain, Toronto, Ont., Florida State, 21-4
Megan McNamara, Vancouver, B.C., UCLA, 31-7, No. 1
Nicole McNamara, Vancouver, B.C., UCLA, 31-7, No. 1
Lea Monkhouse, Mississauga, Ont., Hawai'i, 34-4, No. 2 & 3
Alexandra Poletto, Toronto, Ont., Southern California, 16-16, No. 4 & 5
Taija Thomas, Scarborough, Ont., Florida International, 18-7, No. 4 & 5

Erika Zembyla, Nicosia, Florida International, 12-14, No. 2 & 3

Estefanie Bethancourt, Guatemala City, Florida International, 22-10, No. 3, 4 & 5
Natalia Giron, Guatemala City, Florida International, 22-10, No. 3, 4 & 5
Mandi Orellana, Guatemala City, Louisiana State, 8-9, No. 2

Margherita Bianchin, Traviso, Florida International, 26-6, No. 1
Federica Frasca, Rome, Florida International, 26-6, No. 1

Tina Graudina, Jumala, USC, 28-2, No. 1

Helene Thelle, Tolvsrod, Florida International, 0-1, No. 3

Puerto Rico
Lina Bernier, San Juan, Florida International, 17-14, No. 2 & 3
Eva Torruella, San Juan, Florida State, 19-1, No. 4 & 5

Anabela Sataric, Biberist, Florida International, 8-14, No. 2 & 3

Download highresolution

| More


Other FIVB news