Volley WorldWorld Volley NewsYear BookRules - VolleyballRules - Beach volleyballMedical
Online AccreditationLogin for Media Club members
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Draw held for Asia's World Championship Qualifiers

The draw was held in a Bangkok hotel
 Bangkok, Thailand, March 19, 2017 – Powerhouse Iran have been handed a tough draw in the Asian Qualifiers for the 2018 FIVB Volleyball World Championship.

Iran will host Pool A in Tehran between August 10 and 14, and will face China, Korea, Qatar and a qualifier from Central Asia.

Following Sunday’s drawing of lots for the Asian Zone Qualifiers conducted by AVC Sports Events Council Chairman Dr. Eom Han-Joo in Bangkok, world No. 7 Iran, who finished in joint fifth place at the Rio Olympic Games, will kick off their qualifiers against Korea on August 11, the second day of the competition.

The Iranians, who suffered a shock home defeat to Japan in the final of the 2015 Asian Championship, will next go up against world No. 20 China on August 12 and on the following days a Central Asia team and Qatar, respectively.

Kazakhstan, India, Pakistan and Kyrgyzstan will take part in the World Championship Central Asian Qualification Round in Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan, from April 21 to 23 to fight for a place in the Pool A Qualification Round in Iran.

World No. 15 Australia will host Pool B between July 12 and 16 and will be competing with Asian champions Japan, Chinese Taipei, Thailand and New Zealand.

Australia and New Zealand clash in the curtain-raiser on July 12. The hosts will take on Thailand the following day, have a rest day on July 14 and face world No. 14 Japan on July 15 and Chinese Taipei on July 16.

Only the top two teams from each pool will make the cut for the 24-team World Championship in Italy and Bulgaria.

Kazakhstan (Pool A) and Thailand (Pool B) will be the hosts for the Asian Qualifiers for the 2018 FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Championship.

Kazakhstan have been drawn with world No. 1 and Rio Games gold medallists China, along with Chinese Taipei, Australia and Fiji.

Kazakhstan will start their qualifiers against China on September 21 before going up against Australia, Chinese Taipei and Fiji on September 22, 23 and 24, respectively.

World No. 14 Thailand will host Pool B in Nakhon Pathom on the same dates as Pool A (September 20-24). They have been drawn with Korea, DPR Korea, Iran and Vietnam. Thailand will open against Iran on September 20 and then Vietnam on September 21. The host side will have a rest day on September 22 before going up against DPR Korea (September 23) and Korea (September 24).

The top two teams from each group will join hosts Japan for the 24-team 2018 FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Championship.

Download highresolution

| More


Other FIVB news