Volley WorldWorld Volley NewsYear BookRules - VolleyballRules - Beach volleyballMedical
Online AccreditationLogin for Media Club members
Contact l RSS RSS l Login

Novi Pazari win first Serbian Cup title

VC Novi Pazar won their first-ever Serbian Cup title
Novi Pazar, Serbia, March 15, 2017 – VC Novi Pazar won their first ever Serbian Cup winners’ trophy – the greatest success in their history – following a 3-0 (25-22, 27-25, 25-18) win over Vojvodina NS Seme at Pendik Hall of Sports on Sunday.

“This is something that we have worked on from the start of the season,” said Novi Pazar coach Sasa Stefanovic. “We always played as a team. We kept our composure even when things didn’t go our way. We are glad that we made everyone happy. I hope this is not the end of our season because we still have much more to show in the playoffs.”

“The first set was crucial but we had our chances in the following set,” Vojvodina NS Seme coach Nedzad Osmankac said. “We had the advantage towards the end of the second set but we lost it because we lacked experience.”

Before the start of the match, Serbian Volleyball Federation president Zoran Gajic handed a special plaque of appreciation to Lord Mayor of Novi Pazar Nihat Bisevac for organising a successful Serbian Cup final and for the city’s contribution to the development of volleyball.

Gajic presented the winners’ trophy to Novi Pazar captain Hamza Zatric, while Ivan Knezevic and Nihat Bisevac awarded the gold medals. 

Novi Pazar opposite Irfan Hamzagic was named the Most Valuable Player of the tournament.


Final – March 12
Novi Pazar d. Vojvodina NS Seme (Novi Sad) 3-0 (25-22, 27-25, 25-18)

Semifinals – March 11
Novi Pazar d. Crvena Zvezda 3-2 (30-28, 17-25, 35-33, 28-30, 15-13)
Vojvodina NS Seme d. Kosovska Mitrovica 3-1 (25-16, 25-21, 20-25, 25-17)

Cup winners and number of titles:
Vojvodina, Novi Sad – 14
Crvena Zvezda – 13
Mladost Monter, Zagreb – 8
Partizan – 7
Jugoslavija, Beograd – 3
Budvanska Rivijera, Budva – 2
Ribnica, Kraljevo – 1
Vardar, Skoplje – 1
Bosna, Sarajevo – 1
Buducnost, Podgorica – 1
Radnicki, Kragujevac – 1
Novi Pazar – 1

Download highresolution

| More


Beach Volleyball