Volley WorldWorld Volley NewsYear BookRules - VolleyballRules - Beach volleyballMedical
Online AccreditationLogin for Media Club members
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

South America ready for first beach volleyball Grand Slam

Argentina will be hoping for more gold for Julian Azaad and Nicolas Capogrosso
Lausanne, Switzerland, March 8, 2017 – South American beach volleyball is counting down the hours until the start of the first eight-team Grand Slam of the season at La Florida resort in Rosario, Argentina. 

The eight teams per gender will be divided in two pools of four for a tournament that will start on March 10th with the finals taking place March 12th.

The Argentina Beach Volleyball Centre will host the tournament and it will be a familiar venue to the female players as it hosted the 2016 FIVB Women's Continental Cup.

The home team’s hopes will rest on Rio de Janeiro 2016 Olympic Games participants Ana Gallay and Georgina Klug, while Nicolas Capogrosso and Julian Azaad will be out to repeat their gold medal success from the second stop on the South America Beach Volleyball Tour in Peru. 

That win came over another Rio 2016 pairing, Chilean cousins Marco and Esteban Grimalt, who will compete at La Florida, as will one half of Venezuela’s Rio 2016 pair Norisbeth Agudo.

The event will be broadcast live by DirecTV across South America and on Canal Deportv in Argentina. The South American Volleyball Confederation will stream the tournament on Saturday and Sunday on its website: http://www.voleysur.org

Women's pairs:
Ana Gallay-Georgina Klug (Argentina)
Angela Lavalle –Vanilda Leaol (Brazil)
Erika Mongelos-Michelle Valiente (Paraguay)
Maria Francisca Rivas-Pilar Mardones (Chile)
Andrea Galindo-Claudia Galindo (Colombia)
Lia Fortunati-Camila Bausero (Uruguay)
Angie Serna-Misell Serna (Peru)
Norisbeth Agudo-Gabriela Brito (Venezuela)

Men's pairs:
Julian Azaad-Nicolas Capogrosso (Argentina)
Marco Grimalt-Esteban Grimalt (Chile)
Oscar Brandao-Hevaldo Moreira (Brazil)
Mauricio Vieyto-Marco Cairus (Uruguay)
Gregorio Goyo Godoy-Roger Batilana (Paraguay)
Juan Paternina-Diego Corredor (Colombia)
Eduardo Romay-Giacomo Falcone (Peru)
Carlos Rangel-Jonathan Golindano (Venezuela)

Pool A: Argentina, Uruguay, Paraguay, Venezuela
Pool B: Chile, Brazil, Colombia, Peru
Pool A: Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Venezuela
Pool B: Brazil, Paraguay, Uruguay, Peru

Download highresolution

| More


Other FIVB news