FIVB HistoryFIVB PresidentContacts
Board of Administration and Executive Committee Meetings World CongressBoard of AdministrationExecutive CommitteeCommissionsCouncilsJudicial Bodies
AVC ContactsCAVB ContactsCEV ContactsCSV ContactsNORCECA Contacts
2017 Volleyball and Beach Homologation Procedures FIVB Homologated Equipment List
List of transfers
Contact l RSS RSS l Login

Cristobal Marte Hoffiz reelected as NORCECA President

FIVB President Jizhong Wei along with reelected NORCECA President Cristobal Marte Hoffiz and the confederation board of administration and executive committee members
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic, October 8, 2011 – FIVB First Executive Vice President Cristobal Marte Hoffiz was reelected by acclamation as president of the North, Central American and Caribbean Volleyball Confederation (NORCECA) for a new four-year term after receiving the unanimous vote from the delegates of the 40 National Federations in attendance at the 21st NORCECA Congress on Saturday.

In the presence of FIVB President Jizhong Wei, FIVB vice-presidents André Meyer (CEV president) and Dr Ary Graça (CSV president), the delegates also voted to elect the members of the NORCECA Board of Administration and Executive Committee.

“We need to focus on the future, a bright future that lies ahead for our confederation,” Mr Marte Hoffiz said following his election. “I express my gratitude to all of you for the vote of confidence I have received today and I will do my best to work beyond my limits.”

Mr Marte Hoffiz is being joined by Saul Castro Verdugo (Mexico), Douglas Beal (United States), Mushtaque Mohammed (Trinidad and Tobago), Marta Centeno de Sajche (Guatemala), Hugh Wong (Canada), Glenn Quinlan (St. Kitts and Nevis), Jose Luis Jimenez (Costa Rica), Lucille Hobson (U.S. Virgin Islands), Nelson Perez (Puerto Rico), Bertha Cuadra (Nicaragua) and Sabinah Mason (British Virgin Islands).

Mr Castro Verdugo and Mr Beal were named first and second executive vice presidents respectively, while Mr Mohammed, Ms Centeno, Mr Quinlan and Mr Wong were appointed as vice presidents representing the zones of Caribbean, Central America, Eastern Caribbean and Central. Jimenez Lao will be the General Secretary and Jesus Prieto (Puerto Rico) acting treasurer.

The assembly also designated the candidates of NORCECA to the FIVB Board of Administration to be confirmed during the FIVB Congress in Anaheim, United States in October of 2012. They are together with Mr Marte Hoffiz, Mr Castro Verdugo, Ms Centeno de Sajche, Mr Beal, Mr Mohammed and Mr Wong.

The delegates also voted to elect the presidents of the 10 different commissions that operate within NORCECA. They are Mr Castro Verdugo (Sport Organizing), Mr Mohammed (Development, Technical and Coaches), Puerto Rico’s Jose Perez Vento (Refereeing), Puerto Rico’s Arnaldo Sanchez (Beach Volleyball), Dominican Republic’s Andres Piña (Medical), Mexico’s Alberto Arreola (Finance), Cuba’s Lisset Ricardo (Media), Dominican Republic’s Giovanni Gautreaux (Legal), Guatemala’s Zully Saravia (Marketing) and Nicaragua’s Judith Sandino (VIS and Statistics).

The elections were preceded by the presentation of plaques to the most outstanding national federations organizing competitions during the period 2009-2010. They are: French Saint Martin (Eastern Caribbean), Cayman Islands (Caribbean), Guatemala (Central America) and Puerto Rico and Mexico in the NORCECA Confederation.

Download highresolution

| More



Other news