World Championships World Tour U23 World Championships U21 World Championships U19 World Championships U17 World Championships Continental Cup Challengers and Satellites Exhibitions/Country v. Country Archives
Global World Championship World Tour Grand Slams 2016 Major Series World Tour Opens 2016 World Tour Finals Continental events 2016 National Tours
NF Entry Rankings    - Men    - Women FIVB World Tour    - Men    - Women Provisional Olympic Ranking    - Men    - Women FIVB Season Ranking    - Men    - Women Entry Rankings    Teams - Men    Teams - Women    Players - Men    Players - Women
Beach Volleyball historyFIVB official Rules of the GamePicture of the Game reportGlossary
BVB InfoPersonal Plus - DancersBeach Volleyball Training Centres
Sports Regulations 2016 Handbook 2016 FIVB Challenge System Guidelines 2016 Handbook 2016 (Age Group WCHS) World Tour Branding Kit Media Guide 2016 E-Book How to promote a beach volleyball event - Guidelines
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Rogers and Brunner triumph in Varadero

Former Olympic champion Todd Rogers of United States combined with Theo Brunner to win the Varadero Beach Volleyball Tournament in Cuba on Sunday
Varadero, Cuba, August 25, 2014 – Former Olympic champion Todd Rogers and Theo Brunner of United States-B stopped the undefeated Nivaldo Diaz and Sergio Gonzalez of Cuba-A in the men’s gold medal match of the Varadero Beach Volleyball Tournament, the seventh stop of the 2014 NORCECA Circuit on Sunday.

Rogers and Brunner, winners of the first tournament of the year at Cayman Islands, were victorious again with a 2-1 (13-21, 21-18, 15-11) win over the Cuban pair who had won the three events in which they took part this year –two in Guatemala and the other in Huixquilucan, Mexico.

In the semifinals, Rogers and Brunner defeated Grant O’Gorman and Sam Pedlow of Canada 2-0 (21-19, 21-15) in 43 minutes while Díaz and González defeated compatriots Karel Piña and Yendris Castillo 2-0 (21-14, 21-15) in 40 minutes.

Piña and Castillo of Cuba-B won the bronze medal with a 2-0 (21-18, 21-18) victory over O’Gorman and Pedlow.

In the women’s tournament, Cubans Leila Martinez and Lianma Flores won their first gold medal of the season by defeating favorites Tealle Hunkus and Kimberly McGiven-Dicello of United States-A.

The only Cuban team in the women’s segment won by scores of 2-1 (21-17, 20-22, 15-8) to avenge the two defeats suffered at the hands of the Americans when Leila and Lianma took part this year in the two tournaments held in Guatemala, both times also in three close sets.

The Cubans won in 54 minutes finishing the hopes of the Americans of winning a fourth crown this year after victories in Cayman Islands, Antigua Guatemala and North Bay, Canada.

In the semifinals, Martinez and Flores won 2-1 (14-21, 21-15, 15-10) over Sarah Day and Briana Hinga of United States-B in 50 minutes while Hunkus and McGiven-Dicello defeated Martha Revuelta and Bibiana Candelas 2-1 (19-21, 21-16, 15-6) in 56 minutes.

In the match for the bronze medal, Revuelta and Candelas defeated Day and Hinga 2-0 (21-12, 21-15) in 35 minutes.

Men’s final positions: 1. USA-B, 2.CUB-A, 3. CUB-B, 4. CAN-A, 5. USA-A, 6. MEX, 7. PUR, 8. CUB-C, 9. CAN-B, 10. GUA, 11. ARU, 12. CRC, 13. NCA, 14. ESA, 15. BIZ, 16. DOM

Women’s final positions: 1. CUB, 2. USA-A, 3. MEX, 4. USA-B, 5. CAN-B, 6. CRC-B, 7. MEX-B, 8. CAN-A, 9. HON, 10. CRC-A, 11. DOM, 12, BAR, 13. ISV


Download highresolution

| More


Other news