World Championships World Tour U23 World Championships U21 World Championships U19 World Championships U17 World Championships Continental Cup World Continental Cup Olympic Qualification 2016 Challengers and Satellites Exhibitions/Country v. Country Archives
Global World Championship World Tour 5-Star events World Tour 4-Star events World Tour 3-Star events World Tour 2-Star events World Tour 1-Star events Continental Tours National Tours
FIVB World Ranking    - Men    - Women Entry Rankings    Teams - Men    Teams - Women    Players - Men    Players - Women
Beach Volleyball historyFIVB official Rules of the GamePicture of the Game reportGlossary
BVB InfoPersonal Plus - DancersBeach Volleyball Training Centres
Sports Regulations 2018 Handbook 2018 2018 FIVB Challenge System Regulations Handbook 2018 (Age Group WCHS) Media Guide 2017 E-Book How to promote a beach volleyball event - Guidelines FIVB Beach Volleyball U19 World Championships 2018
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Nanjing Youth Olympic women's bracket field confirmed

Canadians Nicole (left) and Megan McNamara No. 1 seeded team women's team.

Nanjing, China, August 22, 2014 - Led by the winning pairs from of the six pools, a total of 24 women’s teams have been confirmed for play in the single-elimination phase of the Beach Volleyball competition at the Nanjing 2014 Youth Olympic Games being played at a venue in the Nanjing Sports Park Complex.

Canadian twins Megan and Nicole McNamara of Canada will be the No. 1 seeded team in the bracket after capturing the top spot in Pool A when group competition concluded Friday evening at the Beach Volleyball venue.  The McNamaras netted the bronze medal at the FIVB under-19 world championships earlier this month in Porto, Portugal.

Pool B winner Brazil will be seeded second in the bracket followed by pairs from Uruguay (Pool C), Paraguay (Pool D), Germany (Pool E) and Russia (Pool F).  Tandems from Turkey and Latvia were the best second-place finishers and will be seeded seventh and eighth, respectively.

A total of nine European confederation teams have advanced to bracket play with six pairs from South America, five duos from the North, Central America and Caribbean group and four tandems from Africa.

Here’s is the list of teams advancing to the single-elimination bracket where first- and second-round matches will be played Sunday and the quarter-finals Monday.  The women’s semi-final and medal matches will be played Tuesday.

Seeded Teams

1. Megan McNamara/Nicole McNamara, Canada
2. Eduarda Lisboa/Ana Patricia Silva, Brazil
3. Lia Fortunati/Maria Rotti, Uruguay
4. Erika Bobadilla/Michelle Valiente, Paraguay
5. Lisa Arnholdt/Sarah Schneider, Germany
6. Nadezda Makroguzova/Daria Rudykh, Russia
7. Esra Cetin/Selin Yurtsever, Turkey
8. Tina Graudina/Anastasija Kravcenoka, Latvia

Group 1 Draw Teams
• Riski Dwi Andriani/Nanda Ragillia, Indonesia
• Mona Gesslbauer/Julia Radl, Austria
• Camila Hiruela/Irene Varasio, Argentina
• Dunja Gerson/Esther Rohrer, Switzerland
• Lezana Placette/Alexia Richard, France
• Tzu-Yi Pan/Yu-Rong Song, Chinese Taipei
• Briggitte Batioja/Mishelle Molina, Ecuador
• Fernanda Maida/Melanie Vargas, Bolivia

Group 2 Draw Teams
• Lina Bernier Colon/Valeria Cajigas, Puerto Rico
• Kristyna Adamcikova/Katerina Valkova, Czech Republic
• Phoebe Bell/Brittany Kendall, Australia
• Skylar Caputo/Susannah Muno, United States
• Sirinuch Kawfong/Saowaros Tangkaeo, Thailand
• Skye Mondesir/Dala Noel, Saint Lucia
• Irene Enzo/Michela Lantignotti, Italy
• Malika Davidson/Chelsi Ward, Trinidad and Tobago

Download highresolution

| More


Other FIVB news