Challengers & Satellites



  Laredo  2008  Satellite
28.06.2008 -  29.06.2008

FIVB Home Page
Beach Home Page
General Info
Entry List
Main Draw
Photo Gallery
International Beach Volleyball R


FIVB Women's Satellite event comes to Laredo


June 27-29, 2008



For the third-straight season Spain hosts an FIVB Beach Volleyball Women's Satellite event, with Prize Money of US$10,000 up for grabs at the June 27-29 tournament in Laredo, Spain.


Portugal's Juliana Antunes and Sandra Castro won the 2006 tournament in Getxo, with Canada's Anouk Boileau and Marie-Christine Mondor claming silver and Line Jomphe and Rebecca Moskowitz, also of Canada, winning bronze.


In San SebastiŠn in 2007, the Netherlands' Marleen Van Iersel and Maloes Wesselink won gold, the Philippines' Heidi Ilustre and Diane Pascua took silver and Brazil's Maria Antonelli and Leao Vanilda claimed bronze.


The 2008 FIVB Beach Volleyball tournament comes to Laredo. Twenty four teams will be competing in qualifying for the 16 places in the main draw.

The borough of Laredo is to the east of the Cantabrian coast and offers history, natural beauty and friendly people to visitors. The architecture of the mansions, palaces, towers, churches and convents in Laredo is particularly enthralling. Laredo's location means it is blessed with beautiful landscapes and greenery. Hiking and water sports are two popular activities.


Laredo's many buildings overlook the beautiful beach


Spain Roll of Honour: Gold medal (1), Silver medal (2), Bronze medal (3)


Getxo 2006 1. Juliana Antunes/Sandra Castro, Portugal; 2. Anouk Boileau/Marie-Christine Mondor, Canada; 3. Line Jomphe/Rebecca Moskowitz, Canada.

San Sebastiŗn 2007 1. Marleen Van Ierse/Maloes Wesselink, Netherlands; 2. Heidi Ilustre/Diane Pascua, Philippines; 3. Maria Antonelli/Leao Vanilda, Brazil.


Medals: Canada (2), Brazil (1), Netherlands (1), Philippines (1), Portugal (1).


Netherlands, 2007 winners, celebrate