Challengers & Satellites



  Lausanne  2006  Satellite
11.08.2006 -  13.08.2006

FIVB Home Page
Beach Home Page
General Info
Entry List
Main Draw
Photo Gallery

Lausanne Hosts Ninth FIVB Satellite Stop

Lausanne has been the host to a FIVB Satellite stop the past eight seasons, including the last two years where both men’s and women’s competition has been featured.  Switzerland’s Stefan Kobel, who teamed with Patrick Heuscher to capture the bronze medal at the Athens 2004 Games, has claimed four Lausanne gold medals with two different partners.  Kobel won the 1999 event with Martin Walser followed by gold medal finishes in 2000, 2003 and 2005 with Heuscher.  The Swiss Olympians have also claimed silver (2001) and bronze (2002) medals in Lausanne.  Brazilians have won three of the Lausanne stops (1998, 2001 and 2004) with Mariano Baracetti and Martin Conde, the 2001 SWATCH-FIVB World Champions, capturing the 2002 title.  Women’s competition was introduced in 2004 with teams from the Netherlands and Switzerland winning the titles.  Lausanne is a city in the French-speaking part of Switzerland, situated on the shores of Lake Geneva and facing Évian-les-Bains (France).  Lausanne is located 60 km northeast of Geneva.  It is the capital of the canton of Vaud and of the district of Lausanne.  In addition to being the headquarters for the FIVB, Lausanne also is the home of the International Olympic Committee.  It lies in the middle of a wine-growing region.

Year - Lausanne men's gold medal, Lausanne silver medal, Lausanne bronze medal

1998 - Jan Ferreira/Fred Souza, Brazil / Dennys Paredes/Luizao Correa, Brazil / Greg Ryan/Morgan Chapman, United States
- Stefan Kobel/Martin Walser, Switzerland / Bernhard Vesti/Markus Egger, United States / Albert Hannemann/Nick Hannemann, American Samoa
2000 - Kobel/Patrick Heuscher, Switzerland / Egger/Sascha Heyer, Switzerland / Martin Tschudi/Marcel Gscheidle, Switzerland
2001 - Murilo Toscano/Klepper Feitosa, Brazil / Kobel/Heuscher, Switzerland / Egger/Heyer, Switzerland
2002 - Mariano Baracetti/ Martin Conde, Argentina / Marcel Gscheidle/Vesti, Switzerland / Kobel/Heuscher, Switzerland
2003 - Kobel/Heuscher, Switzerland / Fabio Galli/Riccardo Fenili, Italy / Egger/Heyer, Switzerland
2004 - Fred Souza/Pedro Cunha, Brazil / David Wenger/Philip Gabathuler, Switzerland / Pedro Brazao/Marcello Duarte, Brazil
2005 - Kobel/Heuscher, Switzerland / Gscheidle/Jan Schnider, Switzerland / Paulo Emilio Silva/Moises Santos, Brazil

Year - Lausanne women's gold medal, Lausanne silver medal, Lausanne bronze medal
- Merel Mooren/Sanne Keizer, Netherlands / Cecilie Josefsen/Kristine Wiig, Norway / Sara Montagnolli/Sabine Swoboda, Austria
2005 - Simone Kuhn/Lea Schwer, Switzerland / Mireya Kaup/Geeske Banck, Germany / Sara Goller/Laura Ludwig, Germany