Saturday, 23 August 2014
Back to FIVB's homepage
RSS RSS l Contact l 

smart Grand Slam Berlin 2012 | Men
  10/07/2012 - 14/07/2012


FIVB SWATCH World Tour returning to Germany

For the first time since 2008, the FIVB Beach Volleyball SWATCH World Tour will be returning to Berlin, Germany for the $600,000 smart Grand Slam Berlin. This year’s double-gender return visit to Germany’s capital city will be held July 10-15 at the Berlin forest stage. The men will open play on July 10 with their semifinals and medal matches on July 14 and the women will start on July 11 and finish with their semis and medal matches on July 15. Billed as a grand slam event within a major summer festival by the IMG promoters who are seeking to set a FIVB gold medal match attendance record of 18,000 fans on July 14. The event will be the sixth of a FIVB-record eight grand slam events in 2012, the field is expected to include many of the men and women former champions in the event. With all FIVB SWATCH World Tour events in Germany having been played in Berlin, the men are returning for the 13th time while the women will be in Berlin for the seventh time. The men first started playing in Berlin in 1995 while the first women’s event was in 2000. The 2005 event was the FIVB SWATCH World Championships. This year’s event will not only include a music festival and evening matches, it will also have the Berlin City Girl model search. With 21 total, Brazil has won the most medals overall in Berlin (15 men and six women) followed by the United States with eight (two men, six women) and Germany and Switzerland with four each (all men). For more overall event information, visit www.grandslamberlin.de.




Medals - Brazil 15, Switzerland 4, Germany 4, Norway 3, Argentina 3, Spain 2, Canada 1





Site Year Gold Medal Silver Medal Bronze Medal
Berlin 1995 Jan Kvalheim/Bjorn Maaseide, NOR Roberto Lopes/Franco Neto, BRA Ze Marco del Melo/Emanuel Rego, BRA
Berlin 1996 John Child/Mark Heese, CAN Rogerio ‘Para’ Ferreira/Guilherme Marques, BRA Julien Prosser/Lee Zahner, AUS
Berlin 1997 Ze Marco/Emanuel, BRA Para/Guilherme, BRA Kvalheim/Maaseide, NOR
Berlin 1998 Vegard Hoidalen/Jorre Kjemperud, NOR Para/Guilherme, BRA Ze Marco/Ricardo Santos, BRA
Berlin 1999 Ze Marco/Ricardo, BRA Martin Laciga/Paul Laciga, SUI Javier Bosma/Fabio Diez, ESP
Berlin 2001 Prosser/Zahner, AUS M. Laciga/P. Laciga, SUI Tande Ramos/Emanuel, BRA
Berlin 2002 Para/Harley Marques, BRA Mariano Baracetti/Martin Conde, ARG Markus Dieckmann/Jonas Reckermann, GER
Berlin 2003 Harley/Franco, BRA Baracetti/Conde, ARG Emanuel/Ricardo, BRA
Berlin 2004 Dieckmann/Reckermann, GER M. Laciga/P. Laciga, SUI Baracetti/Conde, ARG
Berlin 2005* Marcio Araujo/Fabio  Luiz Magalhaes, BRA Sascha Heyer/P. Laciga, SUI Julius Brink/Kjell Schneider, GER
Berlin 2007 Marcio/Fabio, BRA David Klemperer/Eric Koreng, GER Phil Dalhausser/Todd Rogers, USA
Berlin 2008 Emanuel/Ricardo, BRA Dalhausser/Rogers, USA Pablo Herrera/Raul Mesa, ESP