Sunday, 24 June 2018
Back to FIVB's homepage
RSS RSS l Contact l 

Moscow Grand Slam | Men
  12/07/2011 - 17/07/2011

Eight countries advance to main draw at Moscow Grand Slam

Dmitri Barsouk (right) celebrates with Alexey Yutvalin as the Russian team qualified for the main draw of the 2011 Moscow Grand Slam on Wednesday
Moscow, Russia, July 13, 2011 – Eight teams from eight different countries survived the men’s qualification tournament at the 2011 FIVB Beach Volleyball Swatch World Tour Moscow Grand Slam and complete the 32 teams that will start in the main draw pool play on Thursday.

Among the qualifiers was one Russian team.

On another hot day at the historical Poklonnaya Gora (Victory Park) the home audience on centre court cheered Dmitri Barsouk and Alexey Yutvalin as the Russian pair first beat Alexandr Dyachenko/Alexey Sidorenko from Kazakhstan in two sets. The cherry on the cake was their victory over first seeded Aleksandrs Samoilovs/Ruslans Sorokins from Latvia in the afternoon.

“We know the Latvian guys very well. Last summer I have won the Russian championship together with Alexander Samoilovs”, said a very happy Barsouk afterwards. The Russian championships allows players to compete with a foreign player. “But, you know, there are no friends on the sand.”

Barsouk won silver at the World Championship in 2007 with Igor Kolodinsky. This season he teamed up with Yutvalin. “Me and Alexey are a new couple, we did not get too many good results this year, so it is really fantastic to get into the main draw at the home Grand Slam. I cannot wait for the battles against top world teams. I think it would be nice to play against world champions Alison/Emanuel.”

The other Russian team in the qualification tournament did not make it to the main draw. Andrey Belov and Ruslan Dayanov lost in the first round to Hannes Brinkborg and Stefan Gunnarsson from Sweden (21-18 21-19).

The seven other teams that did qualify are second seeded Clemens Doppler and Matthias Mellitzer from Austria, third seeded Renato Gomes and Jorge Terceiro from Georgia, Germany’s Sebastian Dollinger and Stefan Windscheif, who won the country quota on Tuesday, Italian twins Paolo and Matteo Ingrosso, the France’s Ces brothers Andy and Kevin, Harley Marques Silva and Thiago Santos Barbosa from Brazil and Swiss team Martin Laciga and Jonas Weingart.

One day behind the women’s tournament the men will start with the main draw pool play on Thursday. Eight pools of four teams will play a round robin spread over Thursday and Friday. Pool winners earn a bye to the first single elimination round, and start in the second knockout round on Saturday. The second and third team advance to the first single elimination round on Friday. The semifinals and medal matches will be played on Sunday.

For the men’s tournament there is a total of $300,000 to be divided. Last year China’s Penggen Wu and Linyin Xu beat USA’s Roger Dalhausser and Todd Rogers in the final by 2-1. Germans Julius Brink and Jonas Reckermann defeated Casey Jennings and Brad Keenan in the bronze medal match.

The Russian capital is hosting a FIVB Swatch World Tour Grand Slam for the fourth year in a row. The 2011 Moscow Grand Slam is the 265th men’s event on the FIVB Beach Volleyball Swatch World Tour (open, grand slam, Olympic and Goodwill). The first men’s FIVB Swatch World Tour event was played February 17-22, 1987 in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

More press releases
17/07/2011 Brazil’s Alison and Emanuel claim their first Moscow Grand Slam title
16/07/2011 Brazil, China, Switzerland and USA in final four Moscow Grand Slam
15/07/2011 Brazil and Germany rule in men’s Moscow Grand Slam
14/07/2011 Vice-world champions Ricardo and Marcio no longer a team
14/07/2011 Twelve teams unbeaten in men’s Moscow Grand Slam
13/07/2011 Eight countries advance to main draw at Moscow Grand Slam
12/07/2011 Dollinger/Windscheif earn spot in men’s qualification tournament in Moscow
7/07/2011 Chinese teams to defend their title in Moscow
1/07/2011 Moscow ready for Grand Slam
27/01/2011 2011 FIVB Beach Volleyball Swatch World Tour calendar finalised