Friday, 22 August 2014
Back to FIVB's homepage
RSS RSS l Contact l 

Beijing Grand Slam | Men
  6/06/2011 - 11/06/2011


Beach volleyball returns to Beijing


For the first time since the 2008 Olympic Games, beach volleyball returns to Beijing as the capital of China prepares to host the first FIVB Beach Volleyball Swatch World Tour Grand Slam of the year from June 6-12. The last time the sport visited the historical city was during the quadrennial Olympic Games. On that occasion the U.S. celebrated double gold as men's duo Todd Rogers and Phil Dalhausser beat Brazil's Marcio Araujo and Fabio Luiz before Misty-May Treanor and Kerri Walsh secured a second Olympic gold medal to match the one they picked up in Athens by beating home tandem Jia Tian and Jia Wang in the final. China's Chen Xue and Xi Zhang completed the women's podium while Brazil's Ricardo Santos and Emanuel Rego also claimed bronze in the men's edition. Prior to the 2008 Games Beijing had only hosted a a FIVB Challenger Event in 2007, won by Brazil's Vivian Cunha and Angela Viera. Beijing is China's largest city and is situated on the North coast of the country. It is recognized as the political, educational and cultural center of China and few cities in the world besides Beijing have served as the hub of an area the size of China for so long. The beach volleyball tournament will take place at the Chaoyang Park Beach Volleyball, the same venue that played host to the Olympics three years ago. Below to the left is the podium at the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games (from left to right) Brazil's Marcio Araujo and Fabio Luiz, USA's Todd Rogers and Phil Dalhausser and Brazil's Ricardo Santos and Emanuel Rego.












CHINA & BEACH VOLLEYBALL - China has been the site of SWATCH FIVB World Tour events for the past 13 years, including the Beijing 2008 Olympic Games. The 2011 Shanghai stop marks the eighth year that China has hosted a men’s SWATCH stop and 14th-straight season of staging a women’s event. The Chinese men's team of Penggen Wu and Linyin Xu have captured a pair of silver medals at the 2008 Shanghai and 2009 Sanya stops. Harley Marques has won gold medals at the last three Shanghai stops, including back-to-back titles with Pedro Salgado in 2007 and 2008. 


Medals - Brazil 17, Germany 4, China 2, Spain 2, Switzerland 2, Argentina 1, Netherlands 1, USA 1




Gold Medal

Silver Medal

Bronze Medal



Javier Bosma/Pablo Herrera, ESP

Emanuel Rego/Ricardo Santos, BRA

Pedro Cunha/Para Ferreira, BRA



C. Dieckmann/Andreas Scheuerpflug, GER

Emanuel/Ricardo, BRA

Markus Egger/Martin Laciga, SUI



Marcio Araujo/Fabio Magalhaes, BRA

Cunha/Franco Neto, BRA

Julius Brink/Christoph Dieckmann, GER



Harley Marques/Pedro Salgado, BRA

Marcio Araujo/Fabio, BRA

Patrick Heuscher/Sascha Heyer, SUI



Harley/Salgado, BRA

Penggen Wu/Linyin Xu, CHN

Cunha/Franco, BRA

Beijing 2008 Phil Dalhausser/Todd Rogers, USA Marcio Araujo/Fabio, BRA Emanuel/Ricardo, BRA
Sanya 2008 Benjamin Insfran/Harley, BRA Cunha/Roberto Pitta, BRA Mariano Baracetti/Jose Salema, ARG



Alison Cerutti/Harley, BRA

Cunha/Salgado, BRA

Julius Brink/Jonas Reckermann, GER

Sanya 2009 Reinder Nummerdor/Richard Schuil, NED Penggen Wu/Linyin Xu, CHN Adrian Gavira/Herrera, ESP
Shanghai 2010 Harley/Pedro, BRA Brink/Reckermann, GER Alison/Emanuel, BRA