Men's competition, Stare Jablonki
From 21 July To 25 July 2004

Beach Volleyball Home Page
General Info
Entry List
Main Draw
Press Releases
Wrap Up
Star Profiles
WT 2004 Calendar
Press Kit
Other circuits
Press Releases
Six of Eight Top Seeds Still Playing; Three with One Defeat Each
STARE JABLONKI, POLAND, July 23, 2004 - The six of the eight top-seeded teams in this week's US$180,000 Mazury Open, presented by the Hotel Anders, each won two matches here Friday during the opening rounds, but for three tandems, the last victory was in the contender's bracket.

The Brazilian teams of third-seeded Benjamin Insfran/Marcio Araujo and seventh-seeded Franco Neto/Tande Ramos joined top-seeded Patrick Heuscher and Stefan Kobel as the only three top-seeded teams to post 2-0 match marks Friday in the SWATCH-FIVB World Tour event.

Dropping into the contender's bracket after losing second-round matches in the winner's bracket were second-seeded Emanuel Rego/Ricardo Santos of Brazil, fourth-seeded Markus Dieckmann/Jonas Reckermann of Germany, the fifth-seeded Laciga brothers (Martin and Paul), sixth-seeded Mariano Baracetti/Martin Conde of Argentina and eighth-seeded Sascha Heyer/Markus Egger of Switzerland.

Friday's "big" winners were 21st'seeded Jorre Kjemperud and Vegard Hoidalen of Norway and 24th-seeded Julius Brink and Kjell Schneider of Germany. Kjemperud and Hoidalen posted a pair of upset wins Friday, including a 12-21, 21-18 and 21-19 win over the Lacigas.

The Norwegians play 13th-seeded Pedro Cunha and Pará Ferreira of Brazil in an opening match Saturday with the winner facing either Heuscher and Kobel or Brink and Schneider. Since the return this season to the double-elimination bracket format on the SWATCH-FIVB World Tour, the young Germans have never won their first two matches in a tournament.

Brink and Schneider opened with a win over a team from Poland before scoring a 15-21, 21-13 and 15-13 win over 25th-seeded Emiel Boersma and Richard Kogel of the Netherlands. Boersma and Kogel posted Friday's first upset with a 22-20 and 21-19 win over Heyer and Egger.

Benjamin and Marcio Araujo start winner's bracket play Saturday against 11th-seeded Andrew Schacht and Joshua Slack of Australia, who scored a 15-21, 21-18 and 15-11 win over Baracetti and Conde. Franco and Tande face 15th-seeded Francisco Alvarez and Juan Rosell of Cuba, who scored a 21-16, 15-21 and 15-12 win over Emanuel and Ricardo.

Saturday's opening elimination matches have Emanuel and Ricardo playing Heyer and Egger while 20th-seeded Kjell Goranson and Tarjei Skarlund of Norway challenge 12th-seeded Christoph Dieckmann and Andreas Scheuerpflug of Germany, who eliminated Baracetti and Conde in a late match Friday afternoon.

After eliminating Markus Dieckmann and Reckermann 15-21, 21-19 and 24-22, 14th-seeded Niklas Rademacher and David Klemperer of Germany face the Lacigas. The other elimination match has Boersma and Kogel challenging 17th-seeded Paulo Emilio Silva and Fabio Magalhaes of Brazil.

The 12th men's stop on the 2004 SWATCH-FIVB World Tour continues through Sunday when the final two teams compete for the $27,000 first-place prize.