Men's competition, Marseille
From 14 July To 18 July 2004

Beach Volleyball Home Page
General Info
Entry List
Main Draw
Press Releases
Wrap Up
Star Profiles
WT 2004 Calendar
Press Kit
Other circuits
Press Releases
Lacigas Near Million-Dollar Earning Milestone
MARSEILLE, FRANCE, July 13, 2004 - With two wins here this week, the Swiss brothers Laciga will achieve another milestone in their 10-season Beach Volleyball career together when they take to the sand Thursday in the US$580,000 World Series 13 event.

After improving their 2004 Olympic qualifying rank to No. 3 by winning last week's Mallorca Open by defeating Markus Egger and Sascha Heyer in the first-ever All-Switzerland gold medal match on the international tour, the Lacigas (Martin and Paul) are $5,730 short of the $1-million for career SWATCH-FIVB World Tour earnings together.

After pocketing $27,000 for Sunday's gold medal win in Mallorca, the Lacigas have teamed to win $994,270 since playing in their first SWATCH-FIVB World Tour event April 14-16, 1995 in Marbella, Spain, where they placed 25th to shared $500. The Lacigas also placed fifth in the Sydney 2000 Olympic Games.

Sunday's victory in the finale was also the Laciga's fifth "open" SWATCH-FIVB World Tour gold medal and their third title in Mallorca. The Lacigas won the European Championships on the Mediterranean island in 1999 before capturing a FIVB gold medal in 2002, their last title on the international circuit before Sunday's win.

Shelda Bede and Adriana Behar of Brazil top the SWATCH-FIVB World Tour earnings list with $1,721,215 in 85 women's events together. Brazilians also led the Lacigas on the Olympic qualifying list for Athens.

The Swiss brothers have total 3,018 points for their best eight finishes since the start of the process in January 2003. Emanuel Rego and Ricardo Santos have 3,960 points with Benjamin Insfran and Marcio Araujo compiling 3,128 to give the South American country the top two spots.

The fifth of five-straight mixed gender events, the World Series 13 will start men's qualifying Wednesday with the Main Draw beginning Thursday and the finals Sunday. The winning team shares the $41,500 first-place prize. The woman's qualifying started Tuesday with the Main Draw beginning Wednesday.


Year - Gold Medal / Silver Medal / Bronze Medal
1994 - Jan Kvalheim/Bjorn Maaseide, Norway / Christian Penigaud/Jean-Philippe Jodard, France / Carlos Briceno/Jeff Williams, USA
1995 - Emanuel Rego/Ze Marco de Melo, Brazil / Kvalheim/Maaseide, Norway / Andre Gomes/Carlos Loss, Brazil
1996 - Franco Neto/Roberto Lopes, Brazil / Sinjin Smith/Carl Henkel, United States / Eduardo Martinez/Martin Conde, Argentina
1997 - Guilherme Marques/Para Ferreira, Brazil / Emanuel/Ze Marco, Brazil / Julien Prosser/Lee Zahner, Australia
1998 - Ze Marco/Ricardo Santos, Brazil / Jorg Ahmann/Axel Hager, Germany / Bill Boullianne/Ian Clark, United States
1999 - Jose Loiola/Emanuel, Brazil / Martin Laciga/Paul Laciga, Switzerland / Guilherme/Para, Brazil
2000 - Ze Marco/Ricardo, Brazil / Jorre Kjemperud/Vegard Hoidalen, Norway / Loiola/, Emanuel, Brazil
2001 - Baracetti/Conde, Argentina / Emanuel/Tande Ramos, Brazil / Stein Metzger/Kevin Wong, United States
2002 - Loiola/Ricardo, Brazil / Juan Rossell/Francisco Alvarez, Cuba / Emanuel Rego/Tande, Brazil
2003 - Emanuel/Ricardo, Brazil / M. Laciga/P. Laciga, Switzerland / Dain Blanton/Jeff Nygaard, United States