of the 2013 World League will take place in Mar del Plata,
Argentina from July 17 to 21 and will feature the top two
teams from Pools A and B, the winners of Pool C and the
host nation.
FIVB Volleyball World Grand Prix
The World Grand Prix – the FIVB’s annual international
volleyball competition involving the world’s best female
players – continues to grow as the number of participating
teams this year increase to 20. Sixteen teams featured
in the 2012 edition with a total of 90 matches over four
consecutive weekends in 12 cities. The Finals of the 2012
edition in Ningbo, China comprised six teams with USA
defending their title successfully, making it a hat-trick of
crowns. Brazil sealed their third silver medal while Turkey
picked up bronze on their debut. The 2013 World Grand
Prix Finals will return to the city of Sapporo in Japan from
August 28 to September 1 for the first time since 2009.
USA is looking to become the first team to win four titles in
a row at this year’s tournament.
FIVB Volleyball Club World
The annual FIVB Men’s and Women’s Club World
Championships, which returned to the international
volleyball calendar in 2009 and 2010 after last featuring
in 1992 and 1994 respectively, features the best club from
each continent. The venue for the past four years has been
Doha, Qatar with Italy’s Trentino winning four successive
titles in 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012. The 2010 edition
marked the return of the double gender event after 18
years and, for the first time, featured alternate men’s and
women’s matches in the same venue on the same day.
Trentino became the first club to win back-to-back titles
in 2010 and remains unbeaten, having defeated Brazil’s
Sada Cruzeiro in the final in 2012. Brazilian squad Sollys
Nestlé won the women’s title for the first time in 2012,
defeating the defending champions from Azerbaijan,
Rabita Baku. Sollys now has a complete set of medals from
the Club World Championships, having finished second in
and third in 2011.The 2013Women’s Volleyball Club
World Champions will be held in Zurich, Switzerland from
October 8 to 13 and the men’s will be held in Brazil from
October 15 to 20.
FIVB Volleyball Age Group World
The FIVB age group World Championships are held every
two years with all four in action in 2013 with a new
competition joining them – the FIVB Under 23 World
Championships Open. The first Under 20 and 21 World
Championships were held in 1977 followed by the Under
and 19 World Championships which were inaugurated
in 1989. In the previous editions of the age group World
Championships in 2011, Russia beat Argentina to claim
their eighth gold medal at the Men’s Under 21 World
Championship while Italy beat Brazil to claim their first
ever Women’s Under 20 World Championship title. Serbia
beat Spain to clinch their second successive Boys’ Under
World Championship crown and Turkey won their first
ever gold medal in any FIVB competition at the Girls’
Under 18 World Championship. This year five countries,
spanning four continents, will welcome the world’s top
teams for this year’s competitions. The Girls’ Under 18
World Championship will be held in Nakhon Ratchasima,
Thailand from July 26 to August 4. The Boys’ Under 19
World Championship in Mexicali and Tijuana, Mexico from
June 27 to July 7. Brno in the Czech Republic hosted the
Women’s Under 20 World Championship from June 21 to
while the Men’s Under 21 World Championship will
take place in Ankara and Izmir, Turkey from August 22
to September 1. The inaugural Women’s Under 23 World
Championship Open will take place in Tijuana, Mexico from
October 5 to 12, while the men’s edition will be staged in
Uberlandia, Brazil from October 6 to 13.