Every year the FIVB puts on top class events to
showcase the best in both men’s and women’s
volleyball around the world.
FIVB Volleyball World Championships
The Men’s and Women’s World Championships, staged
every four years, are the most prestigious in international
volleyball. The first World Championships were organised
in 1949 for men and 1952 for women and have remained
the biggest event in volleyball, alongside the Olympic
Games The global qualification process for the 2010World
Championships featured 119 countries (compared with
in 2006, 72 in 2002 and 63 in 1998). In 2013 a record
number of 295 teams registered to enter the qualification
process for the 2014 Volleyball World Championships
and the world’s best 24 teams in each gender will get a
chance to compete in the Finals. Brazil sealed their third
straight Men’s World Championship title in Italy in 2010
after beating Cuba in the Final while Serbia completed
the podium after beating the home side in the bronze
medal match. The 2010 Women’s World Championship
took place in Japan with Russia clinching their seventh
gold medal victory over Brazil, while Japan won their first
medal in the competition since 1978 as they beat USA
for bronze. The 2014 Men’s World Championship will take
place in Poland while the women’s edition is set to be
hosted by Italy.
FIVB Volleyball World Cup
The road to the Olympic Games commences with theWorld
Cup, the quadrennial round-robin event that showcases
the best men’s and women’s national teams (12 in each
gender) in the world. Japan and television partner Fuji TV
host an event that grips the nation and produces incredible
television ratings. Traditionally, the top three teams in the
men’s and women’s competitions at the World Cup had
earned berths in the Olympic Games volleyball tournaments,
however, the 2015 edition will offer that reward to the top
two sides only. Poland hosted the first World Cup in 1965
for men while Uruguay hosted the first event for women
in 1973. Following this Japan gave new life to the men’s
and women’s World Cups by staging subsequent editions
in 1977 and have gone on to host every World Cup since.
Italy’s women successfully defended their title in 2011,
with USA clinching silver and China following with the
bronze. Russia picked up their second gold in a row in the
men’s event with Poland finishing second and Brazil third.
FIVB Volleyball Grand Champions Cup
Japan, in conjunction with television partner NTV,
traditionally hosts this quadrennial round-robin
competition for men and women. The last edition of the
tournament was in 2009 with Brazil coming away with the
men’s title for the second consecutive time after remaining
unbeaten while in the women’s tournament, Italy picked
up their first ever crown. The next edition will be held in
Japan, with the women’s event set to take place in Nagoya
and Tokyo from November 12 to 17, 2013 and the men’s in
Kyoto and Tokyo from November 19 to 24, 2013.
FIVB Volleyball World League
Volleyball’s flagship annual event, started by the FIVB in
is a spectacular showcase for the crème de la crème
of men’s volleyball. The 2013 edition of the World League
will feature 18 teams split into three pools of six for the
first time in its history. Last year’s Finals were played in
Sofia, Bulgaria where Poland sealed its historic first crown,
beating USA in the gold medal match. Cuba completed the
podium, denying hosts Bulgaria their first medal.The Finals