FIVB Beach Volelyball World Tour

U21 World Championships Umag, Croatia | 19 - 23 June 2013


Press release

Beach Volleyball Age Group World Championships' cities confirmed

Lausanne, Switzerland, March 14, 2013 – The International Volleyball Federation (FIVB) is pleased to announce the host cities and dates of its Beach Volleyball World Championships for age groups U19, U21 and U23 taking place in 2013.

The 13th edition of the FIVB Beach Volleyball U21 World Championships will take place in Umag, Croatia from June 20 to 23 while the FIVB Beach Volleyball U19 World Championships, in its 12th edition, will be held for a second consecutive year in Larnaka, Cyprus from July 11 to 14.

As a major enhancement to the FIVB beach volleyball calendar, the FIVB Beach Volleyball U23 World Championships - which will take place in Myslowice, Poland from June 6 to 9 – has been added to provide another opportunity for players to participate in an international tournament with the goal of reducing the gap between age-group and senior level competition.

“We are looking forward to another exciting year of age group beach volleyball, especially with the addition of the under 23 World Championships which will assist in the development of beach volleyball and compliment the growth achieved via the Continental Cup,” FIVB Beach Volleyball Commission President Mr Vicente Araujo said. “Every year, we see the level of competition at these annual World Championships get better and better and with such outstanding venues as Umag, Larnaka and Myslowice we can expect more of the same in 2013.”

Each event will consist of a main draw of 32 teams (eight pools of four teams with the top two teams advancing to the single elimination final phase), comprising six teams per gender per FIVB Confederation (with a maximum of one team per gender per country) and two teams per gender for the host country.

The Confederations will select their best six ranked teams either via the last U19/21/23 Continental Championships or U19/21/23 Continental Tour in 2013 or 2012 or FIVB selection criteria*.

In the event a Confederation is unable to use their quota of six teams per gender, the FIVB will fill the vacancies either via a qualification tournament (one day, single elimination, minimum of eight teams and a maximum of 16) or FIVB selection criteria*.

Poland will be looking to continuing its winning streak in the men’s U19 and U21 Championships. In the 2012 edition, Michel Bryl and Kacper Kujawiak took home the title for the U19 Championship while Piotr Kanto and Bartosz Losiak were crowned U21 champions. Poland also made history last year, having two of its teams go head-to-head for the gold medal in the U19 Championship.

Last year’s women’s U19 Championship in Larnaka saw Lithuanian duo Monika Povilaityte and Leva Dumbauskaite edge out Poland’s defending champions Karolina Baran and Katarzyna Kociolek in the final. In the women’s U21 Championship in Halifax, Canada, Switzerland’s Nina Betschart and Anouk Verge-Depre were crowned world champions. With that win, Betschart joined Brazil’s Carolina Salgado (2004 and 2005) as the only women in the event’s history to win gold in back-to-back years with different partners.

The FIVB Beach Volleyball U19 World Championships were first held in 2002 while the FIVB Beach Volleyball U21 World Championships started in 2001.

FIVB Beach Volleyball Age-Group World Championships for 2013


Host City


U23 World Championships

Myslowice, Poland

June 6-9

U21 World Championships

Umag, Croatia

June 20-23

U19 World Championships

Larnaka, Cyprus

July 11-14

* Please refer to the following link for the Qualification Process:
Download highresolution

| More

More press releases

24.06.2013 21:49:47
Beach volley legend Loiola still as passionate as ever

Umag, Croatia, June 22, 2013 – Brazil’s José Loiola was one of the most colourful beach volleyball players of the past decade. Passion was his tradema... More...

23.06.2013 23:23:39
Brazil and Poland claim gold at U21 World Championships in Umag

Umag, Croatia, June 23, 2013 – Brazil and Poland are the new U21 world champions. In the men’s final of the FIVB Junior World Championships in Umag Gu... More...

23.06.2013 23:02:11
Gold for Brazil after a spectacular men’s final in Umag

Umag, Croatia, June 23, 2013 – Brazil and Canada got people jumping up and down in their seats at the U21 World Championship final in Umag. Both teams... More...

23.06.2013 15:22:44
Canada and Brazil meet again in the men’s final in Umag

23.06.2013 00:29:18
Two Polish teams in final fours at U21 in Umag

23.06.2013 00:01:15
Poland’s Kosiak and Rudol take revenge for friends

22.06.2013 23:08:16
Canada’s O’Gorman and Nusbaum in final four on familiar territory

22.06.2013 16:50:03
Special intercontinental tournament during U21 in Umag

21.06.2013 23:36:56
Three out of four Croatian teams advance to elimination rounds at U21 World Championships in Umag

21.06.2013 23:01:17
The secret of the Croatian beach volleyball success

21.06.2013 15:21:14
A loss and a birthday present in the end for Namibia’s Hlupic

20.06.2013 21:00:16
Late arrival costs St. Lucia the match

20.06.2013 18:10:18
Benham and Kambiz want to make Iran proud

19.06.2013 18:57:06
Youth world champions Bryl and Kujawiak advance to main draw in Umag

20.05.2013 19:17:58
Indonesia and Australia lift titles at AVC Beach Volleyball U-21 Championship

16.04.2013 10:28:39
Five African countries earn U21 BVB World Champ tickets

14.03.2013 09:00:00
FIVB Beach Volleyball U21 World Championships page open

31.12.2012 18:13:06
Beach Volleyball Youth World Championships review - A bright future for Poland