Challengers & Satellites


  Vaduz  2005  Satellite
18.08.2005 -  21.08.2005

FIVB Home Page
Beach Home Page
General Info
Entry List
Main Draw
Photo Gallery

Principality of Liechtenstein


Being small is a strength

Liechtenstein has many faces. At times, it is an Alpine monarchy with the bustle of a festival on the night of nights, at times an island of experiences in an untouched
mountain landscape, awakening hidden feelings. In the Principality of Liechtenstein, at the foot of the Three Sisters massif, life is still manageable and authentic. Everything is here, in miniature: mountainous nature, lively culture, neat little villages, modern architecture, vineyards, and 27 kilometers of Rhine. Nobody knows why: Even Napoleon left the little country in peace. What began over 300 years ago with the Princes of Liechtenstein has become a modern small state with a high quality of life. Being small is indeed a strength.

Facts and figures
System of State, Constitution
Liechtenstein is a constitutional, hereditary monarchy on a democratic and parliamentary basis. The power of State is embodied in the Reigning Prince and the People and is exercised by them in accordance with the provisions of the Constitution (article 2 of the Constitution of 1921).

Head of State
rince Hans-Adam II of Liechtenstein, Duke of Troppau and Jägerndorf, Court of Rietberg. Upon the death of his father, Prince Franz Josef II, Hereditary Prince Hans-Adam took over the regency on 13 November 1989.

On August 15th 2004 H.S.H. Prince Hans-Adam II entrusts his son H.S.H. Hereditary Prince Alois as his representative with the exercise of all sovereign rights pertaining to him, in accordance with the Liechtenstein Constitution.

The Liechtenstein Parliament (Landtag) is composed of 25 representatives. It exercises its rights in the sessions of the Parliamentary Plenary. The Liechtenstein Parliament is small in an international comparison.

According to the Constitution, the Government is a collegial body composed of the Prime Minister and four other Ministers. The Prime Minister and the other Ministers are appointed by the Reigning Prince on recommendation of the Liechtenstein Parliament.

Jurisdiction in civil and criminal matters is exercised in the first instance by the Court of Justice, in the second instance by the Court of Appeal, and in the third and last instance by the Supreme Court. The Administrative Court and the Constitutional Court are courts of public law. The courts sit in Vaduz.


34,294 inhabitants (as of the end of 2003), of which 34% are foreigners,
mainly Swiss, Austrians and Germans

Standard German is the official language; the colloquial language is an Alemannic dialect

80.4% of the population are Roman Catholic
and 7.1% are Protestant; 12.5% belong to other religions.

National Day
15 August

Swiss franc

160.0 square kilometers

Geographical Data
Highest mountain:
Grauspitz, elevation 2599 meters

Lowest point:
Ruggeller Riet, elevation 430 meters

Greatest extension:
Length 24.6 km, width 12.4 km

between 47° 16' 14''/47° 02' 54'' northern latitude
and 9° 28' 18'' /9° 38' 08 '' eastern longitude  

Neighboring States
Switzerland and Austria

National borders
Total of 76 km, of which 41.1 km are with Switzerland (canton of St. Gallen 27 km, canton of Graubünden 14 km)
and 34.9 km with
Austria (province of Vorarlberg)


Further Information: