FIVB Home Page
Beach Home Page
General Info
Entry List
Main Draw
Photo Gallery
TV programming



  Phuket  2007   Women's Open
01.11.2007 -  04.11.2007



Swatch-FIVB World Tour action returns to Phuket

PHUKET 2007 - After staging women’s FIVB Challenger/Satellite events in Pattaya (2001), Bangkok (2005) and Phuket (2005), followed by its first World Tour stop last year, Thailand continues its tradition in 2007 with the final stop on the women's calendar.  The 2005 Phuket stop served as a prelude to the 2006 season-finale where the competition was part of the Andaman Festival to mark the first anniversary of the Tsunami of 2004.  Jennifer Kessy and Heather Lowe won the 2001 Pattaya events for the United States while China’s Linjun Ji and Whenhui You captured the Bangkok stop.  Lijun Ji was 18 years old when she won the event to become the youngest player ever to win “any” international Beach Volleyball event.  Eiko Koizumi and Shinako Tanaka captured Japan’s first-ever international Beach Volleyball gold medal by winning the 2005 Phuket event. At the 2006 event, China's teams rounded off a strong season with a 1-2 sweep by Xue/Zhang Xi and Tian Jia Wang, who finished third and second respectively in the final season ranking.



2006 Phuket Thailand Open podium (left to right) - May-Treanor, Tian Jia, Wang Jie, Zhang Xi, Walsh and Xue Chen



Total Medals - Brazil 5, USA 3, China 3, Cuba 1, Czech Republic 1, Germany 1, Greece 1


Site Year Gold Medal Silver Medal Bronze Medal
Bali 1995 Holly McPeak/Nancy Reno, USA Sandra Pires/Jackie Silva, BRA Karolyn Kirby/Angela Rock, USA
Jakarta 1996 Shelda Bede/Adriana Behar, BRA Maike Friedrichsen/Danja Musch, GER Pires/Silva, BRA
Bali 2003 Tian Jia/Wang Fei, CHN Fernandez Grasset Larrea Peraza, CUB Eva Celbova/Sona Novakova, CZE
Bali 2005 Renata Ribeiro/Talita Antunes, BRA Shelda/Adriana, BRA Thalia Koutroumanidou/Maria Tsiartsiana, GRE
Phuket 2006 Xue/Zhang Xi, CHN Tian Jia/Wang, CHN Walsh/May-Treanor, USA
Totals   Brazil 2 Golds, China 2, USA 1 Brazil 2 Silvers, China 1, Cuba 1, Germany 1 Brazil 1 Bronze, Czech Rep. 1, Greece 1, USA 2