FIVB Home Page
Beach Home Page
General Info
Entry List
Main Draw
Photo Gallery
TV programming



  Klagenfurt  2007   Women's Grand Slam
02.08.2007 -  04.08.2007



The highlight of the year in Klagenfurt

KLAGENFURT 2007 - The SWATCH-FIVB World Tour returns to Klagenfurt, the Carinthian capital city, for the 11th-straight season as the event will feature both men’s and women’s competition for the seventh consecutive year. Since 1996, the event has grown into one of Austria's most successful sporting occasions. It was the site of the 2001 SWATCH-FIVB World Championships when a leading Austrian magazine voted the Lake Woerthersee Beach Volleyball stop their "best event" ahead of the world-renowned downhill ski race in Kitzbuehel and the Formula One Grand Prix. Klagenfurt 2006 will also be the fourth of four Grand Slam events on the SWATCH-FIVB World Tour following "major" stops in Berlin, Stavanger and Paris. Dancing, chanting, cheers and screams are all synonymous with the Lake Woerthersee tournament. Played before capacity crowds on the 8,000-seat centre court, the A1 Beach Volleyball Grand Slam presented by Nokia features six days of thrilling, world-class action, watched by sun-baked galleries in a unique festive atmosphere that never stops. And it's just the perfect ingredients to draw the crème de la crème of Austrian highlife to this unique lakeside event. Ask those in the know:  If it's August, it must be Beach Volleyball at Klagenfurt.


Men - The “premiere” stop on the SWATCH-FIVB World Tour, the Lake Wörthersee SWATCH stop is the fourth and final grand slam event of the 2007 season.  For the second consecutive year, Brazilian Olympic champions Emanuel Rego and Ricardo Santos were upset in the final as Americans Dalhausser and Rogers became only the second team outside South America to take the Klagenfurt gold medal. A 2001 FIVB World Championship victory for Argentina’s Mariano Baracetti and Martin Conde was the only gold medal finish for a country other than Brazil in Austria.



The 2006 Klagenfurt men's podium: Todd Rogers/Phil Dalhausser (USA) gold medal (centre),  Emanuel/Ricardo (BRA) silver medal (left) and Fabio/Marcio (BRA) bronze medal (right)



Year – Klagenfurt Gold Medal / Klagenfurt Silver Medal / Klagenfurt Bronze Medal

1997 - Emanuel Rego/Ze Marco de Melo, Brazil / Jorg Ahmann/Axel Hager, Germany / Paulao Moreira/Paulo Emilio Silva, Brazil
1998 - Jose Loiola/Emanuel, Brazil / Dain Blanton/Eric Fonoimoana, USA / Jan Kvalheim/Bjorn Maaseide, Norway
1999 - Loiola/Emanuel, Brazil / Ze Marco/Ricardo Santos, Brazil / Guilherme Marques/Para Ferreira, Brazil
2000 - Loiola/Emanuel, Brazil / Ze Marco/Ricardo, Brazil / Paulao/Jefferson Bellaguarda, Brazil
2001* - Mariano Baracetti/Martin Conde, Argentina / Loiola/Ricardo, Brazil / Vegard Hoidalen/Jorre Kjemperud, Norway
2002 - Loiola/Ricardo, Brazil / Markus Egger/Sascha Heyer, Switzerland / Hoidalen/Kjemperud, Norway
2003 - Marcio Araujo/Benjamin Insfran, Brazil / Stein Metzger/Kevin Wong, USA / Stefan Kobel/Patrick Heuscher, Switzerland
2004 - Emanuel/Ricardo, Brazil / Franco Neto/Tande Ramos, Brazil / Christoph Dieckmann/Andreas Scheuerpflug, Germany
2005 - C. Dieckmann/Scheuerpflug, Germany / Emanuel/Ricardo, Brazil / Marcio Araujo/Fabio Magalhaes, Brazil

2006 - Todd Rogers/Phil Dalhausser, USA / Emanuel/Ricardo, Brazil / Fabio-Luiz/Marcio Araujo, Brazil
*FIVB World Championships




Women - Since Adriana Behar and Shelda Bede captured their second FIVB World Championship in 2001 in Klagenfurt, the United States have captured four Austrian gold medals until the up and coming Chinese duo of Wang Fei and Tian Jia broke the winning streak last year. The Austrian pairing of Sabine Swoboda and Sara Montagnolli achieved the country's best finish last year with a fifth place.



The 2006 Klagenfurt women's podium:  (left) Juliana/Larissa (BRA) silver medal, Jie Wang/Jia Tian (CHN) gold medal and Okka Rau/Stephanie Pohl (GER) bronze medal




Year – Klagenfurt Gold Medal / Klagenfurt Silver Medal / Klagenfurt Bronze Medal

2001* - Shelda Bede/Adriana Behar, Brazil / Sandra Pires/Tatiana Minello, Brazil / Eva Celbova/Sona Novakova, Czech Republic

2002 - Misty May-Treanor/Kerri Walsh, United States / Shelda/Adriana, Brazil / Elaine Youngs/Holly McPeak, USA

2003 – May-Treanor/Walsh, United States / Pires/Ana Paula Connelly, Brazil / Shelda/Adriana, Brazil

2004 - Walsh/Rachel Wacholder, United States / Shelda/Adriana, Brazil / Annett Davis/ Jenny Johnson Jordan, USA

2005 - May-Treanor/Walsh, United States / Wacholder/Youngs, United States / Tian Jia/Wang Fei, China

2006 - Wang Jie/Tian Jia, China / Juliana/Larissa, Brazil / Okka Rau/Stephanie Pohl, Germany

*FIVB World Championships